My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

My Top Five… Songs to Wake Up to. Complete!

What helps you shake the cobwebs out in the morning? Is there something which makes that half asleep commute to work quicker? Do you need a rhythm to brush your teeth to? Here’s my top 5 songs to wake up to.

EDIT 5. Junior Kickstart, The Go Team!

4. Good morning Good morning, The Beatles

3. Wake Up, Arcade Fire

2. Sabotage, The Beastie Boys

1. In The Mood, The Glenn Miller Orchestra

Whats yours? Let us know what’s yours in the comment section. It doesn’t have to be 5 you could have more or less. If you have an interesting story let us know. Get the podcast here.

November 14, 2007 - Posted by | My Five

48 Comments »

  1. Mine, in no particular order:

    Walking on Sunshine, Katrina and the Waves
    Sugarhigh, Coyote Shivers
    I will survive, Gloria Gaynor
    I don’t like Mondays, The Boomtown Rats
    Build me up buttercup, The Foundations

    Comment by Jane | November 14, 2007 | Reply

    • awwww. love sugarhigh!!

      Comment by jess | August 13, 2011 | Reply

  2. Also no particular order, my fave wake up songs at the moment are…..

    1. 2manydjs: Dolly Parton 9/5 / Royskopp
    2. Delorentos: Eustace Street
    3. The Cure: Boys don’t cry
    4. Wannadies: You and Me Song
    5. Muse: Plug in Baby

    Comment by kate | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  3. 1. La Noyee – Yann Tiersen
    2. Scenic World – Beirut
    3. I Get Around – The Beach Boys
    4. Lady Madonna – The Beatles
    5. Ice Cream Man – Tom Waits

    I’d probably include In The Mood too, but it’s already there so I won’t.

    Comment by Oeoz | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  4. 1. Dear Prudence – The Beatles (Listen to it!)

    *goes to ipod*…

    2. Radiohead – Everything in the right place (a la Vanilla Sky)
    3. The Arcade Fire – Wake Up
    4. Snow Patrol – Open your eyes
    5. The Stone Roses – Waterfall

    yes, quite happy with that list….

    Comment by Paul | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  5. Top Five ‘Hello world, it’s me!’ songs!!!

    1. Final Countdown – Europe
    2. Diner – Martin Sexton
    3. Money For Nothing – Dire Straits
    4. Get Back – The Beatles
    5. Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen

    (I would like to give ‘Walking on Sunshine’ an honourable mention…and the songs I’ve put up here are there because they combine great energy with quiet-to-loud build-ups, which i consider quite important in my wake up routine!)

    Comment by Geoff | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  6. Top 5:

    1. Cathy Davey – Reuben

    2. Violent Femmes – anything off their debut

    3. Queens of the Stone Age – Little Sister

    4. Iron and Wine – Woman King

    5. Paul Simon – Me and Julio Down By the Schoolyard :)

    Comment by Steve | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  7. Some cool stuff! I made an edit to my number 5. It was Bottle Rocket but Junior Kickstart is much better.

    Also, feel free to argue and debate. Someone told me they thought Sabotage isn’t a good morning song. I beg to differ.

    Comment by Tom | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  8. Top 7 cos I couldn’t pick 5

    1. Newton Faulkner – All I got
    2. Snow Patrol – Open your eyes
    3. Kaiser Chiefs – Ruby
    4. Arcade Fire – Wake Up
    5. Delorentos – I cant remember the name of the song (loads of good ones tho)
    6. Duke Special – Freewheel
    7. Rolf Harris – Six White Boomers

    Comment by Julie | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  9. In no particular order:

    1. Bittersweet Symphony – The Verve
    2. Lamposts – Belli X1
    3. Express yourself – NWA
    4. Corpus Christi – Jeff Buckley
    5. The Sweater Song – Weezer

    Not cos they’re particularly morning songs…. just cos they’re particularly good songs and who doesn’t want to hear great songs when they’re waking up.

    oh, oh and
    6. King without a Crown – Matisyahu

    and
    7. Somthing Outta Nothing – Messiah J and The Expert (cos you have to acknowledge such great homegrown hip-hop talent)

    Comment by Róisín | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  10. 1. Telephone line – ELO
    2. Reaching Out / Tie Your Mother Down (from Return of the Champions CD1) – Queen + Paul Rodgers
    3. Solisbury Hill – Peter Gabriel
    4. Doobie Wah – Peter Frampton
    5. Crazy Train – Ozzy

    Comment by Brian | November 17, 2007 | Reply

  11. You guys have some weird wake up music. Where’s James Brown in all this? Completely forgot about “Get up!” Does anyone have any interesting stories behind some of the more unusual choices?

    Comment by Tom | November 17, 2007 | Reply

  12. Loads of great wake up songs here! Here are a few in no particular order:
    1. Obla di Obla da – The Beatles
    2. Sunday Morning – The Velvet Underground (well, the whole album really)
    3. Fujiya & Miyagi – The Jazzmag song, can’t remember the name
    4. Bob Dylan – Subterranean Homesick Blues
    5. Joanna Newsom – Sprout and the Bean (for Sunday)
    Great blog Tom, looking forward to more top5!

    Comment by aoifemc | November 18, 2007 | Reply

  13. All I can deal with in the morning is rather shallow singsang – so here’s my top five:

    Travis – Why does it always rain on me
    U2 – It’s a beautiful day
    Snow Patrol – Chasing Cars
    Coldplay – In my place
    Duke Special – Our love goes deeper than this

    (Sorry for gringing U2 up…)

    Comment by Gabi | November 19, 2007 | Reply

  14. modest mouse – the view
    the raconteurs – level
    adam green – bluebirds
    the strokes – juicebox
    fight like apes – jake summer

    Comment by katie-lilga | November 19, 2007 | Reply

  15. o soauve fanciulla – la bohéme
    wake-up bomb – r.e.m.
    any other way – delorentos
    i don’t feel like dancing – scissor sisters
    bottle rocket – the go! team

    Comment by bren | November 20, 2007 | Reply

  16. Here few more! Also no particular order:

    Good morning, good morning – The Beatles
    Get off my cloud – rolling Stones
    Mr. Brigtside – The Killers
    Concrete Jungle – Bob marley & The wailers
    There she goes again – Velvet Undergroud

    Comment by Rut | November 21, 2007 | Reply

  17. Here are my current morning melodies:
    1. Chips Ahoy – The Hold Steady
    2. We Used to Vacation – Cold War Kids
    3. Snakes and Snakes – Bell X1
    4. Ragdoll – David Geraghty
    5. Girls who play guitars – Maximo Park

    Comment by fionaoc | November 22, 2007 | Reply

  18. I’m late to the game, as usual, but I’ve got a few tracks that get my toes moving under the covers in the morning.

    The Lifting – R.E.M.
    Dizzy – Luna
    Such Great Heights – The Postal Service
    Valley Winter Song – Fountains of Wayne
    Cerulean – The Ocean Blue

    Comment by MattD | December 9, 2007 | Reply

  19. Delerium – Heaven’s Earth (Matt Darey Remix)
    Porcupine Tree – Blackest Eyes
    Jack Johnson – Staple It Together
    Stefy – Chelsea (Morgan Page Club Mix)
    Zoë Keating – Tetrishead.mp3
    Imogen Heap – Can’t Take It In

    Comment by audiomojo | February 4, 2008 | Reply

  20. 1. Take On Me, by Ah-Ha or by Vision Divine
    2. Walking on Sunshine
    3. Just Can’t Get Enough – Depeche Mode
    4. Jump – Van Halen
    5. New Sensation – INXS

    Comment by rockbard | April 28, 2008 | Reply

  21. 1.Walking On Sunshine – Katrina and the Waves
    2.Bad Day – Alvin and the Chipmunks
    3.Bonnie Taylor Shakedown 2K1 – Hellogoodbye
    4.A Dream Is A Wish Your Heart Makes – Disney Channel Stars
    and then if those 4 song haven’t woken you up yet…
    5.Wake Up – Story Of The Year

    Comment by Mangomissa | July 5, 2008 | Reply

  22. As a playlist…

    Breakfast At Tiffany’s- Deep Blue Something
    Under the Bridge- Red Hot Chili Peppers
    Flower- Moby
    American Woman- Lenny Kravitz
    I’m Shipping Up to Boston- Dropkick Murphys
    Ten Thousand Fists- Disturbed

    Comment by Reniban | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  23. Wake up song, wow i have a lot this is tough
    in this order works best for me

    1.Viva la Vida- Coldplay (you might have heard this one too much lately)
    2.Good Day- Tally Hall (not many people know about these guys they’re really good though)
    3.Float On- Modest Mouse (Favorite song ever)
    4.NoseBleed Section- Hilltop Hoods (not even on itunes, you would have to download of the internet,but its a good hip hop song where they actually sing)
    5. Ob la Di Ob La Da- this is such a fun lively song and i hope by this time youre up

    Comment by Notamorningperson | September 10, 2008 | Reply

    • I’m so happy you know about Hilltop Hoods. I’m on here getting ideas for a morning wake up CD and I was gunna add them anyway. Crazy! If you like them check out Atmosphere.

      Comment by blastthexradioo | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  24. No Order but I like these to get me ready for those long working days

    Runaway – The Corrs (I’m not sure why, but it works for me)
    Leaving On A Jet Plane – John Denver
    Long Road To Ruin – Feeder
    The Aeroplane Song – Scouting For Girls
    Sunshine On A Rainy Day – Zoe

    and, sometimes

    We Didn’t Start The Fire – Bily Joel ‘underated’
    That Old Time Rock ‘n’ Roll – Bob Seger

    Comment by Autobren | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  25. There’s only one, as far as I’m concerned

    1. Morgenstemning (Morning Mood) by Grieg (Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, op. 46.)

    Comment by Robert Simmons | October 30, 2008 | Reply

  26. 1. Larger than Life-Back Street Boys
    2. Rockin’ The Suburbs- Ben Folds
    3. Love Train- Big N Rich
    4. Seize the Day- The Newsies
    5. Ordinary Day- The Great Big Sea

    Comment by Zach | January 3, 2009 | Reply

  27. I have a whole playlist! But I guess the ones that work the best (and actually get me to wake up at dreaded 6 AM) are:

    1. Good Morning, Good Morning – The Beatles (a given)
    2. T.H.E.H.I.V.E.S. – The Hives (turn it up and you can’t sleep through that bassline)
    3. Welcome to the Working Week – Elvis Costello (perfect Monday morning jam – “Welcome to the working week/I know it don’t thrill you/I hope it don’t kill you”)
    4. A Beautiful Morning – The Rascals (classic pick-me-up to start the day off with a smile)
    5. Alright – Supergrass (upbeat, catchy, perfect)

    Comment by Anon | January 4, 2009 | Reply

  28. these are not in order, its just they make me feel good in the morning!

    Beyonce – Single Ladies

    Feeder – Just A Day

    Heather Small – Proud

    The Killers – Somebody Told Me

    And last but not least…

    New Found Glory – Kiss Me,

    I love these songs because they all get me going in the morning, but everyones different! lv ya me x x x

    Comment by Sam Merthyr | January 30, 2009 | Reply

  29. Send me on my way-Rusted Root
    Wake me up-Wham
    Lucky today- Cloud cult
    Our time now- Plain white t’s
    Supermassive black hole- Muse

    Comment by Kara | February 1, 2009 | Reply

  30. ARE YOU KIDDING!

    1. Eye of the Tiger
    2. Eye of the Tiger
    3. Eye of the Tiger
    4. Eye of the Tiger
    5. Eye of the Tiger

    Comment by Jon | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  31. the cardigans – rise and shine
    owl city – hello seattle
    paramore – misery business
    nevershoutnever! – yourbiggestfan
    the beatles – hey jude

    (:

    Comment by alexandra | April 7, 2009 | Reply

  32. Get Up and Go Songs. :)

    1. Wakin’ up to Love – Shanna Crooks
    2. Every Morning – Sugar Ray
    3. Get Up Offa That Thing – James Brown
    4. I’m Walking On the Sunshine – Katrina & The Waves
    5. Bucket – Carly Rae Jepsen

    Comment by alanna | April 24, 2009 | Reply

  33. I definetly think of:
    - Ren lenny ren (dutch song) – Acda en de Munnik
    - Gypsy kings
    - I feel good
    - 10.000 nights or Fascination- Alphabeat
    - (DEFINITELY): A jump off, music from the movie Jumper

    Comment by Hiske | May 7, 2009 | Reply

  34. I love listening to these songs in the morning, they get me all excited and energized!

    Beautiful Day- U2
    Poker Face- Lady Gaga
    Don’t Trust Me- 3OH!3
    I’m Yours- Jason Mraz
    Good Day Sunshine- The Beatles

    Comment by raeofsunshine | May 23, 2009 | Reply

  35. You be the anchor that keeps my feet on the ground – Mayday Parade
    Still Around – 3oh!3
    Jamie All Over – Mayday Parade

    Thats about it : D

    Comment by Tyler | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  36. Cha Cha- by Chelo
    Pacemaker- by Green Day
    Pefect Day- by Haiku
    Shake your Bon Bon- by Ricky Martin
    27th Ave. Shuffle- by Foxboro Hottubs

    Comment by Brooke | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  37. Feeling Good – Muse

    Thanks to whoever suggested Everything in it’s right place by Radiohead. Brilliant!

    Comment by Shane | February 11, 2010 | Reply

  38. My top songs to wake up to, well my current morning playlist

    Wham- wake me up before you go go
    Van Halen – Jump
    Nsync- here we go
    ELO- mister bluesky
    madonna- open your heart (mainly because of the movie crossroads ;])

    Comment by Trinity | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  39. can’t believe that no one has yet suggested:

    sublime – what i got’

    Comment by nunya | May 17, 2010 | Reply

  40. I made a playlist for this:

    Comment by Jon Huddo | July 1, 2011 | Reply

  41. 1. Journey – Separate Ways (World’s Apart)
    2. Survivor – Eye Of The Tiger
    3. Britney Spears – Oops!… I Did It Again
    4. The Lonely Island – I Just Had Sex
    5. Katy Perry – Peacock
    lololololol

    Comment by Chris Luong | July 19, 2011 | Reply

  42. No Particular Order…

    Bonnie Tyler – Holding Out For a Hero
    Cascada – Runaway
    Morcheeba – Rome Wasn’t Built In A Day
    Depeche Mode – Just Can’t Get Enough
    Wham – Wake Me Up B4 U Go Go

    Comment by Gavin | August 23, 2011 | Reply

  43. 1.Prodigy – Invaders Must Die
    2.AC/DC – T.N.T
    3.Spiderbait – Black Betty
    4.Inculto – Eastern European Funk
    5.Godsmack – Greed

    Comment by Aleksandr Okatajiyeff Akatjev | August 24, 2011 | Reply

  44. 1. Get Ready for This -2 Unlimited
    2. Mission Impossible Theme
    3. Too Sexy- Right Said Fred
    4. Africa- Toto (or Karl Wolf)
    5. Y.M.C.A

    Happy mornings! :)

    Comment by Colin | September 19, 2011 | Reply

  45. top 3 friendly songs to wake-me up every morning.

    3. beep beep beep (my alarm clock)
    2. beep beep beep beep (my 2nd cell phone, de-activated)
    1. lg ring tone This time.

    right now not then
    I can still remember when I’m working my way back to you boy
    I’m really gonna try

    right now not then
    I can now remember when so I’m working my way back to you boy saving your time
    this time this time this time…

    Comment by joel pichette | February 7, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

