My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Podcast #1 & My Top 5 Lazy Sunday Songs

Here it is! The first ever podcast! Thanks to everyone who helped! Enjoy!

download it here

mytopfiveweek1.mp3

Next week we’re doing My Top 5 Lazy Sunday Songs, so here are mine. What are yours? Remember YOU DON’T HAVE TO LEAVE 5! Any suggestions are welcome.

5. Feist, Brandy Alexander

4. The Shins, Young Pilgrims

3. A Tune For Jack, Lemonjelly

2. Waterloo Sunset, The Kinks

1. Sittin’ on The Dock of the Bay, Otis Redding

November 21, 2007 - Posted by | Music, My Five, Podcast

21 Comments »

  1. Yay – love the podcast! I recommend it highly for general enjoyment AND as a boring-stats accompaniment! Will come back later with my next Top 5 – need to take my time in deciding those…

    Comment by Jane | November 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. I can’t decide on an order, or on just 5, but here’s my contribution!

    # Vehicles and Animals – Athlete
    # Banana Pancakes – Jack Johnson (this could fit in the morning song category too, but it’s definitely a weekend lazy morning song, not a “have-to-get-to-work” song!)
    # The World at Large – Modest Mouse
    # The Remedy – Jason Mraz
    # Lazing on a Sunday Afternoon – Queen (how could I NOT include this!)
    # The Gold Finch and the Red Oak Tree – Ted Leo and the Pharmacists

    # I don’t have a song for this, but you know the kind of music they would play in an old black-and-white sunday matinee movie… THAT!

    Also want to second Waterloo Sunset!

    ok, am done now!!

    Comment by Jane | November 22, 2007 | Reply

  3. Definately agree with Jack Johnson – Banana Pancake (and also loads of his other songs – good morning songs too!!)

    also agree with Waterloo sunset – the kinks

    Jose Gonzalez – Crosses
    Counting Crows – Sullivan Street
    REM – the great beyond
    Arcade fire – wake up (even though you already played it)
    Newton Faulkner – all i got or dream catch me
    Feist – 1234
    Maroon 5 – Sunday Morning 🙂

    Comment by Julie | November 22, 2007 | Reply

  4. I’ll back up Waterloo Sunset, but my topfive, again in no particular order are…

    Damien Rice – Dogs
    BellX1 – Rocky took a lover
    Dire Straits – Romeo and Juliet
    Innocence Mission – Bright as Yellow
    Beatles- Blackbird
    The Shins – New Slang

    Comment by Kate | November 23, 2007 | Reply

  5. It would seem that that is my top six… Podcast is great!

    Comment by Kate | November 23, 2007 | Reply

  6. Yeah waterloo sunset is defo there.
    Top 5 in no order

    Summertime – Nina Simone
    What a wonderful world – Louis Armstrong
    Lazing on a sunny afternoon – The Kinks (eh hello.. of course!)
    Just a perfect day – either various artists or Lou Reed or Duran Duran but fave would be Lou Reed
    Neon Bible – Arcade Fire

    Oh one cheezy last one and I am slightly ashamed of this (my guilty pleasure) Mellow Yellow – Donovan

    Comment by Iano | November 23, 2007 | Reply

  7. Hi Tom,

    Great show, keep up the good work.

    Here are my top five lounge-around-the-scratcher-‘cos-it’s-raining-and-I-don’t-have-to-go-to-work-today songs:

    1. The Sea and Cake – One Bedroom
    2. Belle and Sebasian – Mornington Crescent
    3. Nick Drake – Hazey Jane I
    4. Primal Scream – Shine Like Stars
    5. Yo La Tengo – Let’s Be Still

    Comment by Tony | November 24, 2007 | Reply

  8. Hey Tom,

    Great Podcast!

    Here’s my five lazy Sunday songs:

    Van Morrison – Madame George
    Sufjan Stevens – Romulus
    Polyphonic Spree – Days like this keep me warm
    Aimee Mann – Mr. Harris
    It’s Jo and Danny – The Sooner

    It’s a strange mix but all have a unique staying-in, lazy Sunday feel, I think

    Comment by Susan | November 24, 2007 | Reply

  9. Thomas,

    My 5:

    Soweto – Abdullah Ibrahim
    A Century of Fakers – Belle & Sebastian
    Here – Pavement
    Watching the Wheels – John Lennon
    Sometimes – My Bloody Valentine

    Just stuff that’s nice to listen to while relaxing, simple as that.

    Comment by Will. | November 24, 2007 | Reply

  10. Sittin on the Dock of the Bay – Otis Redding
    Dreamin – Amos Lee
    Wiskey & Wimmen – John Lee Hooker
    Into the Mystic – Van Morrison
    Dream a Little Dream – Mama Cass

    There loads of songs that could easily slide in here – mostly motown/blues/soul based ones – so I literally picked 5 off the top of my head quickly. I’m sure I’ll want to make changes…

    Comment by seathru | November 26, 2007 | Reply

  11. Good job on the podcast Tom. Although blaming Jane for “Walking on Sunshine” was low!

    Right, this weeks ones:

    1. Hand Clapping Song – Meters (there’s nothing like a bit of Funk on a lazy Sunday!)
    2. This is the Dream of Win and Regine – Final Fantasy (cause he’s playing Dublin soon so he’s on my ipod)
    3. Century of Fakers – Belle and Sebastian
    4. Summersong – The Decemberists
    5. Son of Sam – Elliott Smith

    Ben Harper and Jack Johnson did a superb cover of High Tide or Low Tide by Bob Marley that fits too, but I think I’ll save that one for top 5 covers!

    Comment by Oeoz | November 26, 2007 | Reply

  12. So hard to choose! Hmmm….

    Ran for Miles – Gemma Hayes
    Godless – Dandy Warhols 🙂
    1234 – Feist
    Sunday – Sia
    Living Room – Tegan and Sara

    This was difficult. It involved thinking.

    Comment by becs | November 26, 2007 | Reply

  13. Ok… here we go. I’m finally taking part.

    From A to I – Jarvis Cocker
    Sunday – Lucinda Williams
    Gloomy Sunday – Billie Holiday
    Sunday Morning – The Velvet Underground
    Sunday – Bloc Party
    Sunday Mornin Comin Down – Johnny Cash

    I know its six but I couldn’t do JUST songs with Sunday in the title so I picked one Jarvis Cocker song about getting stoned because it just makes sense.

    Comment by Jenna! | November 26, 2007 | Reply

  14. sleeping bag – beck
    sophia – good shoes
    someone great – lcd soundsystem
    open up your heart – the rapture
    somewhat off the way – dogs die in hot cars

    Comment by katie-lilga | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  15. dogs die in hot cars! I love them! saving them for the “top 5 great bands with silly names”

    Comment by Tom | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  16. Waterloo sunset definitely!
    apart from that:

    Jose Gonzales – Heartbeats
    Smashing Pumpkins – 1979
    George Harrison – My sweet lord
    Simon&Garfunkel – The Boxer
    The Doors – Blue Sunday

    Comment by Rut | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  17. somewhat off the way! definite sunday tune. ah thanks for that gem katie-lilga.

    Comment by Jenna! | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  18. I decided to go for a Jazz theme 🙂

    Herbie Mann – Memphis Underground
    Herbie Hancock – cantolope island
    Charlie Mingus – Better Git lit In your Sould
    Miles Davis – So what
    Dave Brubeck – Take five

    Comment by Iain | November 27, 2007 | Reply

  19. Forgot Summertime by George Gershwin! That has to be on ANY list.

    Comment by Oeoz | November 28, 2007 | Reply

  20. In no particular order, and liable to change from Sunday to Sunday:

    Call and Answer – Barenaked Ladies
    Love Song – Five For Fighting
    New Colony – The Postal Service
    True Colours – Eva Cassidy
    Chicago – Sufjan Stevens

    I have so many ‘honourable mentions’ too, but that’s not really in the spirit of a top 5 list, is it?

    Comment by John Madden | November 28, 2007 | Reply

  21. This is a tough one. Here goes.

    Summertime – The Sundays
    No Depression – Uncle Tupelo
    Just Like That – The Connells
    My Life is Totally Boring Without You Around – Cracker
    Afternoon Delight – Starland Vocal Band

    Comment by MattD | December 9, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

