My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Best of 2007 Podcast and My Top 5 Cheer Up Songs.

So it’s a little bit late but here is the Best of 2007 podcast! It was nearly impossible to limit it to 10. Thanks everyone for suggesting and hope we have a great 2008 filled with top five moments and songs.
Download the podcast here

mytopfive Best of 2007

Now that we are in the depressing month of January I thought I’d do the top 5 cheer up songs. Everyone seems to be broke, there’s not much on and it’s cold,wet and windy. If anyone needed a cheer up song it’s now. Here are mine what are yours? GET SUGGESTING!

FINAL PLAY LIST

Float On, Modest Mouse (liam, roisin)

5 .For the price of a cup of tea, Belle & Sebastian

99 luftballon (kate, Jane)

4. This Year, The Mountain Goats

Touch The Sky (pedro monscooch)

3. Scenic world, Beirut

You’re the One For Me Fatty, Morrissey (von pip)

2. Spectacular views, Rilo Kiley

billy idol, dancing with myself (jenna)

1. Light and Day, The Polyphonic Spree

Also, as part of our continual efforts to improve mytopfive we now have an FAQ section.

January 9, 2008 - Posted by | Beirut, Belle and Sebastian, Music, My Five, News, Podcast, Polyphonic Spree, Rilo Kiley, The Mountain Goats

11 Comments »

  1. boooooo in my indecision i missed top of 2007, cheerup I can do though let me think….

    Comment by Kate | January 10, 2008 | Reply

  2. given that im a moody cow i have a cheer up song for my many moods…
    1. Goldfinger-99 Red Balloons for a ‘nostalgic hyper jump around’ cheer up.
    2. Simon and Garfunkel-America for a ‘theres a whole world out there lets go travelling’ cheer up
    3. Damien Rice-Dogs For a ‘Sunny weekend doing Yoga’ cheer up.
    4. Placebo-Nancy Boy… Strange but its my happy and angry cheer up song.
    5. Interpol- Not Even Jail, just cos I’m on an Interpol buzz at the moment.

    Let there be an honerable mention for Weezer- Island in the Sun which is a very cheery cheer up song also.

    Comment by Kate | January 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. Ooooh, yes, 99 luftballons! (nice one Kate!) Although I’m going to vote for the original Nena version in German, and suggest that everybody think of that bit in Scrubs while listening to it.

    I already used this for morning songs, but since it didn’t get played, I’m suggesting it again: Sugarhigh – Coyote Shivers. Perfect for cheering up, waking up, doing pretty much anything in fact!

    I’m Shakin’ – Rooney (the SHOOO SHOOO SHAKIN’ bits make me happy)

    hmmm… now I’m going to go away and make myself *really* depressed so I can see what else I feel like listening to. (it just wouldn’t be properly scientific if I made my decision while in an already quite cheery mood)

    Comment by Jane | January 11, 2008 | Reply

  4. Greetings people, getting well into my ‘Top 5’s’ I am! Big shout to you Tom Sir for another one of my suggestion making it into the podcast, humbled mate!

    So top 5 ditties to put a smile on your face, to be honest there are plenty covering the complete musical spectrum. But decided I’m going to stick on a soulful jazz vibe with the following so here goes…

    Luther Vandross – Never Too Much:
    You know this brings the happiness! all the greatness that Mr Vandross bought us during his life is too much to take in. As a DJ I’ve been rinsing his tracks throughout the years and have never seen another artist get such a happy reaction. As for this slice of joy, original released in 1981 as a single & shortly followed by an LP of the same name, its probably his most famous release. the flip also contains the emotional ‘A House Is Not A Home’, wicked!

    Sounds Orchestral – Cast Your Fate To The Wind:
    This cheeky little 7″ from 1964 released on Piccadilly Records is one of my Mothers fave tunes. Guaranteed to have your toe tappping and a grin on your face by the end of it. Again got loads of versions of this track but for me its all about the Sounds Orchestral version produced by the very talented John Schroeder, well worth checking.

    Nitin Sawhney – Breathing Light:
    The story behind this track is a funny thing. Nitin Sawhney had an audience with Nelson Mandela shortly after he had finished reading ‘Long Walk To Freedom’ and during the course of the interview he asked, after everything he’d been through, whether or not Mr. Mandela actually felt free? to which he replied ‘We are free to be free’ which inspired Nitin to write and produce this D&B track all about positive energy. Released back in 2001 on his fourth studio album ‘Prophesy’

    Ben Westbeech – So Good Today:
    My album and artist of 2007 this was, not only his first single but also the very first release on Gillies Peterson’s ‘Brownswood Recordings’ label released at the end of 2006. This was a complete anthem in my household that would always have me and the girls bopping around like mad things. Mr Westbeech looking like he is the one to step up to take Jay Kay’s crown and wear it properly!

    Jackie Wilson – Sweetest Feeling:
    One to end on & one that everyone always ends up singing to. Originally released in 1969 on Brunswick Records this song exudes happiness like no other. Still gets played out by every DJ worth his salt and still getting a fabulous reaction each time to boot!

    Comment by King Tee! | January 13, 2008 | Reply

  5. Bob Dylan – I Want You

    Van Morrison – The Way that Young Lovers Do

    Queen + Paul Rodgers – Reaching Out/Tie Your Mother Down (Live)
    For the initial riff and the memories of the curtain coming down and Bri running down the catwalk

    Paul McCartney and the Frog Chorus – We All Stand Together Reminds me of my childhood and never fails to produce a smile

    The Eagles – Take it Easy
    Reminds me of Standin’ on the Corner in Winslow, Arizona and 66 in general

    Comment by Brian | January 13, 2008 | Reply

  6. Either the lyrics make me chuckle or the melodies make me smile, sometimes both

    1. Lady Killers- Lush

    2. Surging Out Of Convalesance -Half Man Half Biscuit

    3. Pull Shapes The Pipettes

    4. Blitzed -The Raveonettes

    5. Your The One For Me Fatty – Morrissey

    Ciao Mr Lau

    Comment by vonpip | January 14, 2008 | Reply

  7. I discovered a few things when I was doing this list: first, my knowledge of cheerful songs isn’t very extensive;
    and second, when looking for cheering up I turn to 80s pop (only 2 made the list, but loads more came to mind), and I find that slightly disturbing.

    So here’s the five:

    5. Today – Smashing Pumpkins
    “Today is the greatest day I’ve ever known”

    4. Apply Some Pressure – Maximo Park
    “What happens when you loose everything? You just start again, start all over again”

    3. Enola Gay – OMD
    It’s bizarre that a song about the atomic bomb made my cheerful list, but every time I hear it I feel like jumping up and dancing like a gay-man. Quality song!

    2. The Final Countdown – Europe
    How can anyone not love that guitar?

    1. Float On – Modest Mouse
    I’m amazed that this hasn’t already been mentioned. It opens with “I backed my car into a cop car the other day, well he just drove off sometimes life’s ok” and just gets better from there! One of my all time favourites.

    Comment by Oeoz | January 14, 2008 | Reply

  8. Good choices Oeoz. Personally, I’d go for these five but tomorrow is another day…

    1. ELO: Mr Blue Sky
    2. Bill Withers: Lovely Day
    3. Don’t You Worry ‘Bout A Thing
    4. A-Ha: Take On Me
    5. Kanye West: Touch The Sky

    Comment by Pedro Monscooch | January 14, 2008 | Reply

  9. 1. Beirut – A Sunday Smile.
    Pure loveness.
    2. The Velvet Underground – I’m Stickng With You
    Bizarre. Beautiful. I’d want anyone to sing this to me.
    3. Billy Idol – Dancing With Myself.
    It gets you in the right mood to feel completely powerful on your own. An instant blast.
    4. Etta James – Somethings Got A Hold On Me.
    It must be love? What makes someone more cheerful!
    5. Jackie Brenston and His Delta Cats – Rocket 88.
    Arguably the first rock n’ roll tune. How could that not cheer any music lover up? Plus, the piano lines just make you want to shake your hips. It can’t be denied.

    Comment by Jenna! | January 15, 2008 | Reply

  10. Okay, so while some of my choices are upbeat, some are definitely down beat and low fi but they actually do cheer me up – same mentality as listening to blues music when you feel blue yourself…. it lets the boo-hoo’s out! 😉

    1. Boy with the Thorn in His Side – The Smiths
    2. In Between Days – The Cure
    3. Music is My Hot Hot Sex – CSS
    4. Angela – Elliot Smith
    5. Float On – Modest Mouse
    6. Here comes your Man – The Pixies

    Comment by Tis me | January 15, 2008 | Reply

  11. Does this count?

    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Tx1XIm6q4r4

    It never fails to cheer me up!

    Comment by oeoz | January 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

