My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Songs from Ads Podcast and My Top Five Breakup Songs

Download the Songs from Ads Podcast here

Songs From Ads Podcast

Some great songs for the ads podcast (check out the final playlist below). In 2 weeks time we will be hitting one of the classic mix tape making days of years as we do the Top Five Valentines Day Mix Tape songs. But not yet! First we’re going to balance it out nicely and let the single people be depressed by playing My Top Five Breakup songs. We’re looking for everything from painful goodbyes, tear jerking yearning to the angry bitterness and knowing your better off without them.

So here are mine. What are yours? (Podcasting Wednesday)

5. One More Night, Stars

4. I’ve Got No Distance Left To Run, Blur

3. Walk Away, Ben Harper

2. People in Love, Art Brut

1. Strings That Tie To You, Jon Brion

P.S. The funny cartoon is by the even funnier Jarlath Regan. Check out some of his standup and other cards here.

January 23, 2008 - Posted by | Ads, Art Brut, Ben Harper, Blur, Breakup, Commercials, Jon Brion, Music, My Five, Podcast, Stars

13 Comments »

  1. Look at my eagerness……

    Break up songs….hmmmm…here’s a fair mix:

    Dry your eyes mate – The Streets

    Good Woman – Cat Power

    Tell me on Sunday – Andrew Lloyd Webber, sung by Marti Webb

    I will survive – Gloria Gaynor

    My last affair – Ella Fitzgerald

    Comment by Susan | January 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. Look Susan, I figured it out! My top 5 break-up songs would be (or have been)…

    Love will tear us apart – Joy Division

    The predatory Wasp of the Palisades is out to get us – Sufjan Stevens

    Blue Valentines – Tom Waits

    I’m a cuckoo – Belle & Sebastian

    It’s a motherfucker – Eels

    Comment by Denise | January 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. last podcast was quite good, great job Tom

    break up songs, hmm.. .. i would say

    Go Your Own Way – Fleetwood Mac
    One – U2
    I Just’ Died in Your Arms – Cutting Crew
    Back Off Bitch – Guns N’ Roses (not for everyone’s taste)

    Comment by Mohan | January 24, 2008 | Reply

  4. top five break up songs as follows;
    1. I Remember – Damien Rice (Really for the rant in the middle)
    2. Placebo – Every You Every Me
    3. Ben Folds Five – Smoke (possibly one of the less bitter of his impressive repetoire of very good break songs)
    4. Hot Hot Heat- Goodnight Goodnight (Love this song.. LOVE IT!)
    5. You Oughta Know- Alanis Morisette (Bitter Much!?- But really you cant have a top five break up songs without Alanis Morrisette in there somewhere).

    Tom I must also agree on No Distance Left to Run but left it out as you already have it!

    Comment by Kate | January 24, 2008 | Reply

  5. Die Happy – Goodbye

    Comment by Jo | January 24, 2008 | Reply

  6. So, I should start this post by mentioning that a couple months ago a radio show over here out of Chicago called “This American Life” dedicated a show to ‘break-up’ songs, which included a hilarious dissection of the genre. This included a chronicle of a girl who recruited the help of the ultimate break-up song artist, Phil Collins, to write her own. It’s very funny and definitely worth checking out (This American Life episode #339).

    Anyway, onto my top 5 break up songs:

    Alkaline Trio- My Friend Peter
    The Postal Service- Nothing Better
    The Clash- Train in Vain
    Larry Williams and Johny Watson- Too Late
    Thin Lizzy- Running Back

    Comment by Joe | January 25, 2008 | Reply

  7. This is a great theme Tom! Loads of choice. Those artists and their emotional pain!

    5. Don’t Dream it’s Over – Crowded House (Cheesy, I know, but what’ll ya do?!? There’s a great live version Neil Finn did with Johnny Marr)
    4. Another Lonely Day – Ben Harper
    3. When Doves Cry – Prince
    2. 50 Ways to Leave Your Lover – Paul Simon
    1. Famous Blue Raincoat – Leonard Cohen
    I’m not too sure if this one counts. It was written as a letter to his brother who had an affair with his wife. It has the immortal line: “Thanks for the trouble you took from her eyes, I thought it was there for good, so I never tried”.

    Comment by Oeoz | January 25, 2008 | Reply

  8. Songs about failed relationships? Come on! No one writes songs about that.

    OK, OK, I might be able to think of a few. The thing is, there really are different styles here. There’re “Glad it’s over” songs, there’re bitter songs, there’re “I’ll never forget you songs,” and so on. I guess I’ll just choose a smattering.

    1. Popular – Nada Surf.
    2. My Life is Totally Boring Without You Around – Cracker
    3. Ticket to Wyoming – The Ocean Blue
    4. The World Has Turned and Left Me Here – Weezer
    5. Thinking About You – Radiohead
    6. Here’s Where the Story Ends – The Sundays
    7. The One I Love – R.E.M.
    8. In the Sun – Joseph Arthur (also covered by Michael Stipe)
    9. Faraway You – Marah
    10. To Wish Impossible Things – The Cure

    OK, just writing this list is getting depressing! I’d better stop.

    Comment by Matt D | January 25, 2008 | Reply

  9. Love Will Tear Us Apart – Joy Division
    Romeo and Juliet – Dire Straits
    Maps – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
    I’d Rather Go Blind – Etta James
    Dry Your Eyes – The Streets
    Pictures of You – The Cure
    I’d Rather Go Blind – Etta James
    All Your Love I Miss Loving – Otis Rush (What’s a breakup list without a blues tune? Really.)
    It Must Have Been Love – Roxette
    There She Goes – Bob Marley
    It’s Too Late – Carole King
    She’s Got You – Patsy Cline
    I Want To Hear You Sad – The Early November (what’s a break up list without an emo band?? Seriously.)

    Comment by Jenna! | January 29, 2008 | Reply

  10. My personal favourites when it comes to depressing songs:

    5. Used 2 love U – John Legend
    4 .Undone (The Sweater Song) – Weezer
    3. Ain’t No Sunshine When She’s Gone – Bill Withers
    2. She’s gone – Hall & Oates
    1. Song For The Dumped (minor)- Ben Folds

    Comment by Pedro Monscooch | January 29, 2008 | Reply

  11. Thinking of breakup songs is making me uncomfortable – bit like hearing Christmas music right after Christmas… BUT… definitely Alanis Morisette – You Oughta Know. Recently rediscovered my collection of mix tapes from the 90’s, and Alanis Morisette was truly cool (just pretend the Hanson tapes never existed).
    Also, I’m obsessively listening to The Weepies – Gotta Have you. It’s the perfect song to save up for my next breakup 😀

    Comment by Jane | January 30, 2008 | Reply

  12. Oh, The Weepies – World Spins Madly On might be even more perfect. And the video is lovely (I’m always swayed by plasticine)

    Comment by Jane | January 30, 2008 | Reply

  13. what a horrible idea actually.. but here are mine
    1.Cryin’ – Aerosmith
    2. I’ll be back – the Beatles
    3. Everybody Hurts – R.E.M.
    4.Since I’ve been loving you – Led Zeppelin
    5. Piece of my heart – Janis Joplin

    Comment by Rut | January 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

