My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Break Up Songs Podcast and My Top 5 Valentines Day Mix Tape Songs

 Download the Breakup Podcast here

Breakup Songs Podcast

Thanks everyone for leaving some great breakup songs! I think we got a good mix of angry, sad, solemn, pensive and “fuck you bitch”. We’re hoping to continue tugging at the heartstrings this week with My Top 5 Valentines Day Mix Tape Songs. So I’m sure you all have some classics. Bonus points go to songs actually used in a Valentines Day mix and if you want to leave a dedication to that someone special then let me know.

Here are my five. What are yours? Get writing!

5. Stick with me, Robert Plant and Alison Krauss

4. Anyone else but you, The Moldy Peaches

3. Your Face, The Frames

2. Sixteen, Maybe Less. Calexico & Iron Wine

1. You Don’t Know Me, Ray Charles

January 31, 2008 - Posted by | Alison Krauss, Calexico, Iron and Wine, Music, My Five, Podcast, Ray Charles, Robert Plant, The Frames, The Moldy Peaches, Valentine's Day

15 Comments »

  1. cool blog. I can’t decide on my top 5, but these would be in there some where In My Ladies House – Iron and Wine, Maybe I’m Amazed – Paul McCartney, and Red House Painters – Summer Dress.

    Comment by chadbrownfield | January 31, 2008 | Reply

  2. “Wop a din din” – Red House Painters – its actually a song about a cat, but its deeply sweet. Funny to see “Your Face” on the list, that was a regular on my mixtapes!!

    Comment by Steve | January 31, 2008 | Reply

  3. I love Maybe I’m Amazed as well! Great choice. Also I’ve thought of a small few..
    Something- George Harrison
    Heros- David Bowie
    Strange and Beautiful (I’ll put a spell on you)- Aqualung
    I hope that I don’t fall in love with you- Tom Waits

    Ones I’ve actually put on a mixtape were
    Lloyd I’m ready to be heartbroken – Camera Obscura
    You are what you love- Jenny Lewis and the Watson Twins
    Martha- Tom Waits
    Cos I’m a soppy girl deep down!

    Comment by Denise | January 31, 2008 | Reply

  4. Top 5 mix tape songs have to be:
    Aqualung: Strange and Beautiful
    Iron and Wine: Such Great Heights
    Damien Rice: The Blowers Daughter
    Razorlight: Fall Fall Fall
    Yeah Yeah Yeahs: Maps
    oooh I feel weepy already!

    Comment by kate | January 31, 2008 | Reply

  5. Ok, the “I’m so sensitive and know so much about music” mix (circa 1995)

    1. The Frames – Your Face
    2. Leonard Cohen – Suzanne
    3. dEUS – Hotel Room
    4. Bob Dylan – I want you
    5. The Doors – Indian Summer

    Comment by Steve | January 31, 2008 | Reply

  6. Please Forgive Me – David Gray
    Enjoy The Silence – Depeche Mode
    In The Aeroplane Over The Sea – Neutral Milk Hotel
    The Ship Song – Nick Cave
    La Cienega Just Smiled – Ryan Adams

    Comment by Oeoz | February 2, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hmmm… judging by the songs that first came to mind, I’m deep down cheesy and refusing to move on from the 80’s…

    With or Without You – U2
    Every Breath You Take – Sting & The Police
    I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing – Aerosmith
    I’ll see your heart and I’ll raise you mine – Bell X1
    This Years Love – David Gray

    Comment by Jane | February 4, 2008 | Reply

  8. If people are embarrassed and want to leave anonymous suggestions, that’s cool too!

    Comment by Tom | February 5, 2008 | Reply

  9. Here’s my attempt…as you might have guessed, mix tapes not a big player in the life of Susan….to date!

    REM – At my most beautiful
    Aimee Mann – Mr. Harris (Cheers D)
    Tom Waits – Martha
    Smiths – There is a light that never goes out
    The Beatles – Hold your hand

    Comment by Susan | February 5, 2008 | Reply

  10. can I give an honourable mention to Cary Brothers – Blue Eyes also – from the Garden State Soundtrack.

    And Gin Blossoms – Till I Hear It from You fromo Empire Records…

    I could go with this one all day – I used to be a queen for mix apes and mix cd’s – still have the first tape and CD I ever made- though they werent of the ceesy variety really.

    Comment by Kate | February 5, 2008 | Reply

  11. and by ceesy I meant cheesy of course

    Comment by Kate | February 5, 2008 | Reply

  12. The Mix Tape…A Thing of Great Beauty!
    Top Songs that did in fact land on valentine’s mixes I made (I went through my box of copies!):

    1. Rebellion (Lies) – Arcade Fire
    2. Time of the Season – The Zombies
    3. Baby, I’m Yours – Barbara Lewis
    4. Maps – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
    5. I’ll Be Your Mirror – The Velvet Underground & Nico

    Songs that have landed on V-day Mix Tapes Made By Those Old Dang Boyfriends:

    1. Lavender – The Go-Betweens
    2. Then She Appeared – XTC
    3. I Will Follow You Into the Dark – Death Cab
    4. Sweet Thing – Van Morrison
    5. Just Like Heaven – The Cure

    Comment by Jenna! | February 5, 2008 | Reply

  13. OK it’s getting late and my mind isn’t focussed musically but here goes:

    Don’t you Want Me Baby – Depeche Mode (?)
    Mentioned above, I want you – Bob dylan and its my fav Dylan track but not sure its about break-ups?!

    Only other one I can think of right now is

    Love of My Life – Queen. Please please please play this last one, possibly the most beautiful song ever, there were tears when Bri with an empty stoll next to him played it dedicating it to Fred. Live version if possible.

    Comment by Brian | February 5, 2008 | Reply

  14. Oh yeah please play something off Love’s “Forever Changes” album, that was practically all about break ups etc.

    And possibly best (non Queen) album ever

    Comment by Brian | February 5, 2008 | Reply

  15. U2 – With or Without you
    Jack Johnson – better together
    the frames – your face
    newton faulkner – dream catch me
    REM – at my most beautiful
    the cure – just like heaven

    Comment by Julie | February 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

