My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Duets Podcast and My Top Five Comedy Songs & FREE TICKETS!

Download the Duets Podcast here

Thanks everyone for the Duets songs suggestions! I couldn’t fit them all in but we got an excellent mix. This week we have a very special podcast with guest contributors the comedy group “Diet of Worms” taking the driving seat. We’re looking for your favourite songs/tracks that make you laugh and ALL suggestions will enter you in a draw FOR 2 FREE TICKETS at the next Puffincat club comedy gig. The gig is on the 19th of March in Bewleys Cafe, Grafton Street. So make sure you leave a valid email address so we can contact you if you win, also let us know if you can’t make it so we won’t include you in the draw. So without further ado here are the Diet of Worm’s Top Five Songs That Make You Laugh.

My Top Five Comedy Songs

Amy’s Choice:

“If you’re into it” by Flight of the Conchords

 

Shane’s Choice:

“Clipoty Clop” by Warlords of Pez

 

Philippa’s Choice:

“Tundra Rap” by The Mighty Boosh

 

Gaffo’s Choice:

“I Trusted You” by Andy Kaufman

 

Rory’s Choice:

“You’re Checkin’ In” by the Simpsons

 

March 13, 2008 - Posted by | Comedy, Competition, Freebies, Music, My Five, News, Podcast

23 Comments »

  1. I know I can’t win the tickets but here are some of my favourite songs that make me laugh

    Electric Six, Danger Danger
    Tenacious D, Wonderboy
    Bill Hicks, Gideons
    Flight of Conchords, Issues

    Comment by Tom | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  2. Eskimo: Corky And The Juice Pigs
    Bill Bailey: Cockney Medley
    The Simpsons: Dr Zaius
    Flight Of The Conchords: Sello Tape
    Denis Leary: Asshole

    I can’t make it that night. Cool competition though.

    Comment by Pedro Monscooch | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  3. I think anything by The Boosh or Flight of the Conchords could go in here, but if I HAVE to choose… then….

    Conchords: Hiphopopotamus vs. Rhymenoceros

    Jonlajoie: Everyday normal guy (check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PsnxDQvQpw)

    Jonlajoie: Everday normal guy 2 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GmG4X9PGOXs)

    Boosh: Tundra

    Conchords: Sally [and this is quite a long song Tom so would be good for the podcast! :-)]

    Goldie Lookin’ Chain: Your Mothers got a Penis

    Why are all my comedy songs rap songs?!?

    Comment by Roisin | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  4. 1. America, Fuck Yeah – Team America: World Police
    2. A Boy Named Sue – Johnny Cash
    3. Gin and Juice – The Gourds (I actrually sang duet on this at a company party)
    4. Talkin’ Softball – from The Simpsons
    5. Springtime for Hitler – from the play “The Producers”

    Comment by Brian | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  5. Probably nothing for the podcast but still immature and funny:

    I’m fucking Matt Damon

    I’m fucking Ben Affleck

    Comment by Jo | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  6. Well, here is my twopence worth. In no particular order……

    Steve Martin, Tonight Song (Opening monologue on SNL)
    Flight of the Conchords, Business Time
    Jimmy Fallon, Idiot Boyfriend
    Dick in a Box, SNL
    Minstrel Song, Pappy’s Fun Club

    Comment by Nenners | March 14, 2008 | Reply

  7. The best comedy song has to be Bill Bailey’s Beautiful Ladies or his dance version of the BBC news theme

    Comment by Denise | March 14, 2008 | Reply

  8. i dont think my suggestion will make it but gonna give it to ya anyways!! its damien rice -the professor…always makes me smile but dont think its under the comedy song title…hmmm…i’ll have to think some more…what about pat shortt and the breakfast roll song??!??! would that be a contender?! or am i just proving how much of a culchie i am!?

    Comment by sue | March 14, 2008 | Reply

  9. […] In other news, My Top Five is giving away free tickets the Puffincat Comedy Club (Bewleys Cafe, 19th March). We’re doing a very special podcast with My Top Five Songs that make you laugh. The songs have been chosen by the comedy troupe “Diet of Worms” who MC the event. All you have to do to win the tickets is a leave song suggestions over at the mytopfive blog. […]

    Pingback by Happy Pi Day! Free Puffincat tickets « Nerd Rock | March 14, 2008 | Reply

  10. What a great idea, here are my 6, which I believe is the new 5

    Bill Bailey’s Love Song

    Rich Hall (Available from http://muse.cream.org/bill/others.html)
    1) Drunk
    2) Uncle Muncie
    3) He Almost looks like you

    Tim Minchin
    1) Inflatable You (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e6raVzrbqrM)
    2) You Grew on Me (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yx3kMBoeZh0)

    Comment by Iain | March 14, 2008 | Reply

  11. No order or anything. Nice work so far Tom keep it up!

    1. Guy love: Scrubs
    2. Eat it: Weird Al Yankovic (parody of beat it)
    3. Wonderboy/ on note song: Tenatious D
    4: Don’t Breathe: Duke Special
    5: Its Oh so quiet: Bjork

    Thats it for now
    BTW you know my mail address
    Ian

    Comment by Iano | March 17, 2008 | Reply

  12. No order or anything. Nice work so far Tom keep it up!

    1. Guy love: Scrubs
    2. Eat it: Weird Al Yankovic (parody of beat it)
    3. Wonderboy/ on note song: Tenatious D
    4: Don’t Breathe: Duke Special
    5: Its Oh so quiet: Bjork

    Thats it for now
    BTW you know my mail address
    Ian

    Comment by Iano | March 17, 2008 | Reply

  13. Chicken song – The bees
    Shutup and sleep with me – Sin with sebastian
    Summer in the city – Regina Spektor

    Comment by Karen | March 17, 2008 | Reply

  14. hmmm ok, let me think…
    My Lovely Horse from Father Ted
    Get in my car – David Hasselhoff
    Where’s Me Jumper – Sultans of Ping

    that’s all I can think of right now (although most German music makes me laugh, but I don’t think it counts as comedy when they mean it so seriously…)

    Comment by Jane | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  15. i’d like to add denis o leary -asshole to my list….thats all i can think off..but id be with jane on the david hasslefoff song!! classic!

    Comment by sue | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  16. Has no-one mentioned David O’Doherty yet Tom? FAQ for the DO’D or Corporations Don’t Fuck With The DO’D – Or Very Mild Super Powers – http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Pz4f_e02RFM
    Also – Spinal Tap’s Tonight I’m Gonna Rock You Tonight.
    The Conchords’ Bowie’s In Space – http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=iR2L98gobTQ

    Comment by Shane | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  17. Tracy Jacks- Blur
    Boris the Spider – The Who
    Asshole – Denis O Leary
    Neighbourhood – Space
    Common People – Pulp

    seems i think of britpop for this one- I guess they didnt take thier songs so seriously.
    and an honourable mention for Wierd Al Yankovic- Amish Paradise.

    Comment by Kate | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  18. Tire Swing – Kimya Dawson

    I love the line “Joey never met a bike that he didnt wanna ride”!! Brilliant!!

    Comment by Julie | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  19. Some others that I like too 🙂

    Life is going to suck http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJYTsuqfy_4

    Bob by Weird Al, Probably not great for a podcast, but a great video…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nej4xJe4Tdg

    Comment by Iain | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  20. Can’t believe no-one has any Monty Python…..so here are a couple

    Spam song

    Lumberjack Song

    Also worth a mention…

    Nelly McKay – Clonie

    And now, I’m back to stealing…..

    Springtime for Hitler – from the play “The Producers”

    Bill Bailey’s Love Song

    Comment by Susan | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  21. Has to be Bill Baileys love song, followed closely by anything from the DOD. also where’s me jumper. sorry for the lack of originality!

    Comment by fiona | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  22. Songs of Love – The Divine Comedy
    Dick in a Box – SNL
    Ballad of the Colorectal Surgeon by George Bowser & Ricky Blue [http://www.heebie-jeebie.com/images/song%20files%20mp3/colorectal%20surgeon.mp3]
    I’m fucking Matt Damon – Sarah Silverman
    My Lovely Horse – Father Ted

    Comment by bren | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  23. I always get in on these too late, but anyway

    Robby Roadsteamer-I put a baby in you

    -Joe

    Comment by Joe | March 18, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

