My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Unplugged Podcast, My Top Five Wedding Reception Classics

Thanks to everyone who left comments for the Unplugged Podcast, It’s twelve songs long and you can download it here.

Unplugged podcast.mp3

As a dedication to my friend Ian who’s getting married tomorrow, we’re looking for your Top Five Wedding Reception Classics. I’m talking about the songs that will make men, women and children dance (some with more panache than others). So what songs will Uncle Jimmy try to boogie to?
Here are My Top Five what are yours….
5. Tainted Love, Soft Cell
4. Video Killed The Radio Star, The Bugles
3. Do the Hustle, Disco
2. I Saw Her Standing There, The Beatles
1. Teenage Kicks, The Undertones

April 10, 2008 - Posted by | Music, My Top Five, Podcast, Weddings

12 Comments »

  1. 5. You Shook Me All Night Long – AC/DC
    4. Only The Good Die Young – Billy Joel
    3. Wonderful Tonight – Eric Clapton (For the slow dance.)
    2. Thriller – Michael Jackson

    and finally;

    1. Butterfly Kisses, which is ALWAYS the father/daughter dance.

    Man, I’m so ashamed of this list, but my family has about a wedding a month, and this is what plays, besides Lebanese music.

    Comment by Norman | April 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. salut Tom,

    You have done a great job with this blog. Congratulations !!!

    As for the last podcast, the interpretation of “Les yeux noirs” I had in mind was this more gypsi stylish(thnx for putting it in the podcast anyway). This is played by Mandino Reinhardt, one of Django’s nephews and I wish I was in that caravan…

    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7666174894387859244&q=les+yeux+noirs&total=670&start=10&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=3

    Comment by BC | April 12, 2008 | Reply

  3. I can only think of three, but I haven’t been to a wedding since last summer (sorry to all my friends back home)… and maybe these are American, but:

    3 – The Way You Look Tonight – Normally be Sinatra
    2 – YMCA – The Village People
    1 – Shout – The Temptations (I know this was also used in Wedding Crashers and 27 Dresses, but I have yet to go to a wedding where I don’t hear this)

    Comment by Liz of the fractured rib | April 13, 2008 | Reply

  4. Yeah YMCA has got to be in there.

    And lets not forget the Jive Bunny remix of numerous songs…

    Time Warp seems to be a favourite in any weddings I’ve been to…

    And one that always fills the floor with boys jovially killing each other is Put em Under Pressure (that Ireland World Cup Song, I’ve no idea who performs it)

    Comment by Roisin | April 14, 2008 | Reply

  5. my sister is getting married in a week and a half!! Yahoo!!! build me up buttercup is gonna be played….and what about ce-le-brate good times come on, ymca is a classic at parties, teenage kicks will prob be played too, and abba i suppose!!think the first dance is tom baxter-better…and we’re definitely doing the thriller dance!!! im so excited!!! :o)

    Comment by sue | April 15, 2008 | Reply

  6. Having attended my first ever wedding a couple of weeks ago, I am happy to report theat the following songs were played and screamed along to by yours truely….

    You Shook Me All Night Long – AC/DC
    Sweet Home Alabama – Lynyrd Skynyrd
    I’m Gonna Be (I’m gonna walk 500 miles….) – The Proclaimers
    Rock the Boat – Hues Corporation
    Living an a Prayer – Bon Jovi

    Comment by Susan | April 15, 2008 | Reply

  7. After the wedding of the century (so-called because of the riotously funny, heart warming and profound best man’s speech) you’d think I’d be prepared for this. But alas no, all I can think of from that wedding are Debaser and Love will tear us apart, neither of which will get Uncle Jimmy away from his pint. So here’s some others:

    Beatles – Help!
    The Foundations – Build me up buttercup
    Rolling Stones – Satisfaction
    The Saw Doctors – N17 (we are irish after all)
    AC/DC – All night long

    Ten-four, over and out.

    Comment by Oeoz | April 16, 2008 | Reply

  8. *C&C Music Factory – Gonna Make You Sweat (Everybody Dance Now)
    *Marcia Griffiths – Electric Boogie
    Wet Wet Wet – Love is All Around
    Al Green – Let’s Stay Together
    Barry White – Can’t Get Enough of Your Love Babe

    (*every cheesy wedding in America…open bar a must of course)

    Comment by Jenna! | April 16, 2008 | Reply

  9. I’m sorry for this, but I have to include this is the greatest music video on all of youtube. Forget all this rickrolled nonsense, thank YOU marcia griffiths:

    Comment by Jenna! | April 16, 2008 | Reply

  10. we could also include “what is love?” by haddaway in this list and if you get particularly sauced up at a wedding that includes karaoke (hopefully you don’t experience this like i once did) you can sing freda payne’s “band of gold” which is about breaking up on the wedding night– i in fact hit the open bar of cheap wines at my cousins wedding several years ago and did in fact belt this one out. (hangs head in shame)

    Comment by Jenna! | April 16, 2008 | Reply

  11. Nearly all of my wedding experiences have been in Germany, so apart from cheesy Bavarian songs, these seemed popular:

    Ob la di, ob la da – Beatles
    Bridge over troubled water – Simon & Garfunkel
    Yellow submarine – Beatles

    actually, I could probably just go on alternating between The Beatles and Simon & Garfunkel, so I’ll stop there!

    Comment by Jane | April 16, 2008 | Reply

  12. I am a DJ in London,UK and find that these work very well and are probably my top 5 requests.

    1. YMCA – Village People
    2. Build Me Up Buttercup – Foundations
    3. ABC – Jackson 5
    4. Billy Jean – Micheal Jackson
    5. Superstition – Stevie Wonder

    Classics!

    Comment by GJ's Discos | April 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

