My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Alternative Singers Podcast and My Top Five Driving Songs

A brilliant crop of songs from you guys helped make this one of my favourite podcasts so far. Download it here.

Alternative Singers Podcast.mp3

So with the weather picking up and a Bank Holiday on the horizon, I thought about doing My Top Five Driving Songs for next week. Just imagine the wind in your hair, an empty road and just kicking back through those miles. A lot of songs I would normally play were already on my workout podcast but here are mine, what are yours?

My Top Five Driving Songs

5. I Turn my Camera On, Spoon

4.Ballad of the Lonely Argonaut, Beulah

3.Unforgettable Season, Cut Copy

2. Don’t Stop Me Now, Queen

1. Let’s Get Out of The Country, Camera Obscura

April 24, 2008 - Posted by | Driving, Music, My Top Five, Podcast, Singers

11 Comments »

  1. 5.California Girls – The Magnetic Fields
    4.Losing California – Sloan
    3.Search & Destroy – The Stooges
    2.Pancho Villa – Sun Kil Moon
    1.Pinball Wizard – The Who
    Tied for first 1. Paper Planes – M.I.A

    This podcast was amazing

    Comment by Norman | April 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. I just found your blog
    Youve just made my night 🙂

    Comment by Tenaka | April 25, 2008 | Reply

  3. Really loved the last podcast, good stuff out of you!

    Big Guns – Jenny Lewis with the Watson Twins
    Gay Unicorn – Gay Against You
    Michael A Grammer – Broadcast
    The Purple Bottle – Animal Collective
    The Party’s Crashing Us – Of Montreal

    Comment by Denise | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  4. 1) (Hello love) – The to be good Tanyas
    2) (You are free) – Cat Power
    3) (Jazz in the house) – Marcus Miller
    4) (Gelato al limon)- Paolo Conte
    5) (When did you leave heaven) – Lisa Ekdahl and Peter Nordahl trio.

    Comment by BC | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  5. Hmm… I haven’t been out driving for a while, but some of the best long drive songs (ala driving from Minnesota to Texas):

    5. Sweet Home Alabama – Lynrd Skynrd
    4. Float On – Modest Mouse
    3. Radar Love – Golden Earring
    2. Any Way You Want It – Journey
    1. I Can’t Drive 55 – Sammy Hagar

    Comment by Liz | April 27, 2008 | Reply

  6. Just What I Needed – The Cars
    Roadrunner – Jonathan Cope
    Here I Go Again – Whitesnake
    Drive My Car – The Beatles
    White Rabbit – Jefferson Airplane (for those longer nights behind the wheel!)

    Comment by Brian | April 28, 2008 | Reply

  7. The Ramones – Listen to My Heart
    Bob Dylan – Hurricane
    The Fall – Bingo Master
    The Only Ones – Another Girl, Another Planet
    Sparks – Angst in My Pants

    Comment by Jenna! | April 29, 2008 | Reply

  8. Well, this may be too late, but here goes: This list is scary because it’s all songs that I used to be into when I lived in Philly. But then again, I drove a ton back then, so all my driving songs are from that time. God I don’t miss commuting!

    The Distance : Cake
    I got pulled over on a deserted road in the middle of rural New Jersey for doing 70 in a 45 while listening to that! I had no idea where the cop came from or anything. I was completely oblivious. I could have been doing 100.

    Born To Run : Bruce Springsteen
    “Sprung from cages out on highway 9, chrome wheeled, fuel injected and steppin’ out over the line”. Can’t say enough about this driving song.

    Anything, Anything (I’ll Give You) : Dramarama

    Rolling : Soul Coughing

    I-76 : G-Love and Special Sauce

    Kick Some Ass – Stroke 9 (Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back Soundtrack)

    Comment by MattD | April 30, 2008 | Reply

  9. Ooops! Forgot 2.

    Favorite Shirt : The Figgs

    Really Scrape the Sky : Kingmaker

    Comment by MattD | April 30, 2008 | Reply

  10. play Bruce!!

    Comment by Julie | May 1, 2008 | Reply

  11. You should listen to Julie

    Comment by MattD | May 1, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

