My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Instrumental Podcast and My Top Five Barbeque Songs

Woah! There was so many suggestions for the instrumental podcast I squished in 12 songs to make it the longest podcast so far. For the people I missed out, I PROMISE I will play something for you next week.

Download the Instrumental Podcast here

Instrumental Podcast.mp3

For next week, the Barbeque season is well underway and I’m the one who always makes BBQ mixtapes so I thought I might share some of my favourites. Here are My Top Five Barbeque Songs, what are yours?

5. Feel Good By Numbers, The Go Team!

4. Love Me Like You, Magic Numbers

3. Fresh Feeling, Eels

2. Score from Augusta, Beulah

1. If She Wants Me, Belle and Sebastian

May 22, 2008 - Posted by | Barbeque, Instrumental, Music, My Five, My Top Five, Podcast

13 Comments »

  1. OK so these are just random picks from my brain:

    1. Warren G / Nate Dogg – Regulate
    2. Count Five – Psychotic Reaction
    3. Semisonic – Secret Smile
    4. Queen – Dragon Attack
    5. The Hold Steady – Chips Ahoy!

    Comment by Brian | May 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. Forgive me, but when I think BBQ, it’s inextricably associated with 4th of July. So it’s a little of my parents’ music. But all excellent.

    6. Don’t Stop Believing – Journey
    5. The Joker – Steve Miller Band
    4. Free Falling – Tom Petty
    3. Crazy Game of Poker – OAR
    2. Rains in Africa – Toto
    1. Life is a Highway – Tom Cochrane

    And, depending on the crowd and how messy the night is going to get… Friends in Low Places – Garth Brooks

    Comment by Liz | May 23, 2008 | Reply

  3. Ok… somehow, it didn’t like the last time I hit submit, so let’s try it again. I can’t narrow it down to five, but Tom, this gives you a little flexibility, eh?

    10. Ants Marching – Dave Matthew’s Band
    9. Cheese Burger in Paradise – Jimmy Buffett
    8. 7 – Prince
    7. Friends in Low Places – Garth Brooks
    6. Free Falling – Tom Petty
    5. The Joker – Steve Miller Band
    4. Rains in Africa – Toto
    3. Life is a Highway – Tom Cochrane
    2. Crazy Game of Poker – OAR
    1. Don’t Stop Believing – Journey

    Comment by Liz | May 23, 2008 | Reply

  4. i feel “lazing on a sunny afternoon” is missing from this list! not sure if thats the name of it but you know the one i mean!

    Comment by eva | May 25, 2008 | Reply

  5. Let’s pretend is summer 35 degrees outside, smell of chicken and all sort of meats all around the place and lots of people half-drunk. That’s the music that goes with it … There would definetely be one from the genres in brackets.

    1) Quantic – Transatlantic [electro jazz]
    2) Goran Bregovic & Kayah – Prawy Do Lewego (Right to left)[Etno jazz]
    3) Goran Bregovic – Underground cocek (Underground weeding)
    4) Senor matanza – Manu chao,MANO NEGRA [Ska]
    5) Noir desir – Le vent nous portera [Pop francais]
    6) Clint Eastwood & General Saint – Stop that train [Reggae zone]
    7) Shine – Aswad
    8) The tide is high – Blondie
    9) Boom Shak a lak – Apache Indian

    and of course

    Beach boys – Surfin USA

    Comment by L10 | May 25, 2008 | Reply

  6. The Kinks- Sunny Afternoon
    The Pixies- Here Comes your Man
    Beach Boys- Good Vibrations
    The Shins- New Slang
    Weezer- Surf Wax USA

    Comment by Kate | May 26, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hey tom!
    thanks for the comment.
    My suggestions are

    1.The Village Green Preservation Society – The Kinks
    2. Born To Run – Bruce Springsteen
    3. Elephant Gun – Beirut
    4.Ghosts Are Good Company [Park Drive Outtake] – Bishop Allen
    5. West Coast Wives – Christian Hansen (available on his myspace)

    Comment by Norman | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  8. 5. Roots Manuva – Pep My Game
    4. LCD Soundsystem – “All My Friends”
    3. War – “The Cisco Kid”
    2. Talking Heads – “Once in a Lifetime”
    1. Curtis Mayfield – “Move On Up (Extended Version)”

    …I think this might have been my favorite one yet, for sure. I could go on, and on, and on. Anyone having a BBQ and wants Pulp and Circumstance to build up some mixes and send them off, I’m yours. Clearly, I need more of a life, but oh well.

    Comment by Jenna! | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  9. Oh man, I hope I’m not too late on this

    1. Wendy Rene-Bar-B-Q (Great Stax Records tune, an absolute must for this playlist)
    2. Murphy’s Law-Crucial BBQ (Another fun BBQ song)
    3. Mighty Mighty Bosstones-Rascal King
    4. Sublime-Doin’ Time
    5. Eat Steak-Reverend Horton Heat

    Comment by Joe | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  10. KIDS – MGMT

    :):)

    Comment by Karen | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  11. Right.

    Jazzy Jeff and Fresh Prince – Summertime

    Sublime – What I got

    LCD Soundsystem – My House

    Pixies – Here comes your man

    Whipping Boy – When we were young

    They Might be Giants – Birdhouse in your Soul

    The Joker – Steve Miller Band (?)

    Done šŸ™‚

    Comment by Roisin | May 28, 2008 | Reply

  12. mmmmmmmmmmm barbeque… šŸ™‚

    Comment by raptureponies | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  13. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation šŸ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Sleekly.

    Comment by Sleekly | June 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

