My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Barbeque Podcast and My Top Five Songs that tell stories

Well I think we jinxed the weather by announcing the bbq podcast but it turned out pretty great and hopefully the weather will too!

Download it here

Barbeque podcast.mp3

For the next podcast we’re looking for your top songs which tell stories. They can be funny, romantic, depressing or relate to something that happened to you. Here are My Top Five, what are yours?

5. Barenaked Ladies, The Old Apartment

4. Daft Punk, Digital Love

3. Bright Eyes, At The Bottom of Everything

2. The Beatles, Rocky Racoon

1. Johnny Cash- A Boy Named Sue

May 29, 2008 - Posted by | Barbeque, Music, My Top Five, Podcast

12 Comments »

  1. Do you have any idea how tempting it is to claim that “Trapped in the Closet” is my favorite? I mean, there’s nothing like a 14-minute R.Kelly ballad to remind me not to listen to him ever again.

    I’ll put up my 5 when I’m back from Galway 🙂

    Comment by Liz | May 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Jens Lekman-postcard to nina

    Slint-Good Morning Captain

    The Byrds-Chestnut Mare

    The Beatles-Eleanor Rigby

    De La Soul-Jenifa taught me

    Comment by gardenhead | May 30, 2008 | Reply

  3. 1. Queen – In Only 7 Days. From the Jazz album, Freedie meets a chick on the beach and goes from there

    2. Craig David – Seven Days. Basically ripping Queen off!

    3. The Beatles – Norwegian Wood. Turns out Queen rippid Sir Paul off! Do, dodododo, dodododo, dodododoo – its up there with the best acoustic riffs of all time, which funnily enough has reminded me of my next pick:

    4. Dire Straits – Romeo and Juliet.

    5. The Eagles – Hotel California.

    Comment by Brian | May 30, 2008 | Reply

  4. DAMN! I forgot the best one:

    Bob Dylan – Hurricane. Best story song evveeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

    Comment by Brian | May 30, 2008 | Reply

  5. I’d like to have chosen songs from 5 different artists, but Bob is just too damn good…

    5. Joey – Bob Dylan
    4. Let’s Not S*it Ourselves (To Love and to be Loved) – Bright Eyes
    3. Up On Cripple Creek – The Band
    2. Highlands – Bob Dylan
    1. Lily, Rosemary & the Jack of Hearts – Bob Dylan

    Comment by eamon | May 30, 2008 | Reply

  6. Pretty much anything by Johnny Cash – I Hung My Head
    Another vote for Bob Dylan – Hurricane
    Paul Simon – Me and Julio Down By The Schoolyard
    Eminem – Stan

    Comment by James | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  7. I’m going to have to go with James, pretty much anything by Johnny Cash!… But A Boy Named Sue, The Mercy Seat, 21minutes to Go…. the list goes on!)

    Hmm, what else….

    Corpus Christi – Jeff Buckley
    Coming to America – Neil Diamond
    Brother Loves travelling Salvation Show – Neil Diamond
    Me and Julio down by the schoolyard – Paul Simon
    A Day in The Life – Beatles
    Mr Wendel – Arrested Development

    I’ll probably come back with some more! 😉

    Comment by Roisin | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  8. 1. The Mercy Seat – Johnny Cash
    2. Children Story – Slick Rick
    3. War On Drugs – Barenaked Ladies
    4. Brick – Ben Folds
    5. Paul Revere – Beastie Boys

    It’s not my best list ever but I tried to be original. Damn, I was about submit the comment and my number one was just mentioned in the last comment.

    Comment by Pedro Monscooch | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  9. Too $hort – “Bl*w Job Betty” (probably woefully inappropriate but excellence where dirty rhyme meets lengthly storytelling)
    Bob Dylan – “Hurricane” (obvious reasons)
    Elton John – “Tiny Dancer” (a quiet choice)
    Gordon Lightfoot “Wreck Of The Edmund Fitzgerald” (you may not be a fan of folk, but this tune is a story man!)
    Lil McClintock – “Furniture Man” (already played on the Top Five Podcast so no need for repeats but a brilliant story that introduces the listener to a slew of American reconstruction history)

    Comment by Jenna! | June 3, 2008 | Reply

  10. Simon & Garfunkel – America

    Comment by Norman | June 4, 2008 | Reply

  11. Ooh, I have to second Simon & Garfunkel, I really love that song. Also love Tiny Dancer! A little lazy this week so not submitting my own top five just browsing to see which ones I’d like to see on it!

    Comment by Denise | June 4, 2008 | Reply

  12. as i saw him live in Dublin last week, i had to suggest the following songs –
    Livin’ in the future – Bruce Springsteen
    We Shall Overcome – Bruce Springsteen (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/We_Shall_Overcome)

    Hotel California – The Eagles (my all time fav :))
    Brandi Carlile – The Story (from GA’s)

    Comment by Mo. | June 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

