My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Story Podcast and My Top Five My Top Five intros

Kudos people! (Or Golf Claps if you’re Jenna) I really liked your suggestions for the Songs that tell stories podcast.

Download it here

Story Podcast.mp3

For next week, to celebrate 6 months of My Top Five, we are looking for a new intro jingle. So send us your suggestions! It can be any style, any genre, any part of a song (need about 10 seconds so specify where). It can be the intro, a vocal part, a riff or solo, trumpet blast, ANYTHING! As long as it sounds good we’ll take it on board.

For example, here are My Top Five My Top Five new intros

5. Silver Lining, Beulah. The cool surf guitar and trumpet intro after the bass

4. Always New Depths, Bloc Party. Another catchy little guitar riff intro.

3. Pencil Rot, Stephen Malkmus. The weird intro that sounds like a guitar synth spaceship attack

2. Korobeiniki (The “Tetris” Song), Ozma. The chorus?

1. Alternative Ulster, That slow, itchy guitar build up at the very beginning.

NEWSFLASH:

My Top Five Regular Senor Pedro Monscooch has made his own mashup mixtape. Check it out here.

June 5, 2008 - Posted by | Music, My Top Five, Podcast

7 Comments »

  1. Just wanted to point out that on the dublin.metblogs site we have free tickets to the Future Days Festival feat. Dan Deacon, Deerhunter, Jape and more

    http://dublin.metblogs.com/2008/06/07/future-days-festival-free-tickets/

    (end plug)

    Comment by mytopfive | June 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. Where are all the comments???

    I’m thinking if I’m the only one you’ll have to pick one of my choices…

    -Let me Entertain You by QUEEN. Excellent riff to start things off with, about 10 secs long, that should cover you nicely.
    -White Queen by QUEEN. Just a load of screaming and guitars from Queen II, it works.
    -Sleeping on the Sidewalk by QUEEN. Excellent Bri bluesy riff.
    -Tie Your Mother Down by QUEEN. Its what they used to, and still do, open their gigs with, ‘nough said.
    Let me think about others…

    Comment by Brian | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. Was just thinking that there’s really not enough comments about Queen on this blog…. Anyhow, I’m all about the Intros so I’m gonna go for;

    Jump Around – House of Pain

    Airbag – Radiohead

    The Riverboat Song – Ocean Colour Scene (very obvious I know – sorry)

    Chicago – Sufjan Stevens

    Stone Roses – Waterfall

    Comment by Roisin | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  4. 1. Delta Five – “Mind Your Own Business” (the opening 7 seconds and then perhaps mash it up with the line from the tune that says “Can I interfere in your crisis?”)

    2. Kraftwerk – “Das Modell” (that opening lick perhaps sprinkled by the lyric “koorr-ecckktt!” and “angeguckt”

    3. LCD Soundsystem – “Tribulations, Lindstrom Remix” (at 47 seconds in that beat just picks up and grabs you)

    ///I’m out. Sorry.///

    Comment by Jenna! | June 11, 2008 | Reply

  5. 10 – Rompe (intro) – Daddy Yankee
    9 – Meant to Live – Switchfoot
    8 – Juicy – Better than Ezra
    7 – School of Rock (intro) – Jack Black
    6 – Roxanne (intro) – Sting/The Police
    5 – A little Respect (intro) – Erasure
    4 – Naive (intro) – The Kooks
    3 – La Grange (beginning) – ZZ Top
    2 – Fat Lip (intro) – Sum41
    1 – Everybody Get Up – Five (You know the part)

    Comment by Liz | June 12, 2008 | Reply

  6. I had a nice thorough list, lots of great ideas, then it disappeared when I tried to post it. This is what I remember from it:
    This Modern Love – Bloc Party
    Scenic World – Beirut
    Kung Fu – Ash
    Spitting Venom – Modest Mouse
    Lies – Broken Records
    Paint it Black – Rolling Stones
    Drugs – Simple Kid
    Kid on my Shoulders – White Rabbits

    Comment by Oeoz | June 12, 2008 | Reply

  7. Is this the first time that no ones selected the same tune as someone else????

    Comment by Roisin | June 12, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

