My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

MT5 Intro Podcast and My Top Five PRIDE songs

We have a new jingle! It was very difficult choosing between all the great ideas (and Queen). Check out the songs here.

Intro Podcast.mp3

For next week, I’ve been told it’s the Dublin Pride Festival. So we’re going to do a Top 5 Pride Songs. I’m not really sure what constitutes a gay pride song but I’m open minded to how you want to interpret it. I’ll be leaving the Top 5 to a few esteemed members of Dublin’s Gay Music Snob community but I’ll leave some suggestions in the comment box too.

June 12, 2008 - Posted by | Dublin, Gay, Music, My Top Five, Podcast, PRIDE

20 Comments »

  1. Gay songs? Cue a million Freddie Mercury suggestions…..

    Comment by Brian | June 13, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hmmm, good one! Pride is the one times when ALL the clichéd songs are played – think disco dancing down O’Connell Street and you’re on a roll

    I’m Coming Out by Diana Ross
    A Little Respect by Erasure
    R.E.S.P.E.C.T. Arethra Franklin
    We Shall Be Free by Garth Brooks [actually quite good!]
    Everybody Dance Now! by C&C Music Factory
    I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor

    FunkyTown by Lipps
    Tainted Love by Softcell
    Girls & Boys by Blur
    It’s Raining Men by The Weather Girls
    We are Family by Sister Sledge
    Your Spin Me Round by Dead Or Alive

    Comment by Bren | June 13, 2008 | Reply

  3. … actually, at last years Pride parade in Dublin I remember hearing Nirvana ‘Smells Like Teen Spirit’ playing seriously loudly from a float … so gay Pride isn’t just about all the usual cliches anymore 🙂

    Comment by tony wards boyfriend | June 13, 2008 | Reply

  4. Straight people can leave song suggestions too! Here’s my five. I went for gay bands or gay lyrics.

    1. Of Montreal, Bunny Ain’t No Kind of Rider
    2. Rufus Wainwright, Oh What a World
    3. Electric Six, Gay Bar
    4. Teagan and Presley, The Con
    5. The Pipettes, I like a boy in uniform

    Comment by Tom | June 13, 2008 | Reply

  5. 1. Mr. Bad Guy – Freddie Mercury
    2. Body Language – QUEEN. Thiss video features Fred mincing around in a leather police uniform. The other lads are rolling their eyes with no idea what is going on. Pure early 80’s.
    3. Relax – Frankie Goes to Hollywood
    4. Let’s Go Outside – George Michael

    Comment by Brian | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hmm, Pride songs

    The Gossip – Standing In The Way of Control
    Diana Ross – I’m Coming Out
    Soft Cell – Tainted Love
    Donna Summer – I Feel Love
    Tegan and Sara – The Con
    Yo Majesty – Club Action
    Scott Matthew – In The End (Justin Bond’s version from Shortbus here: http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=bDfer2J-Vpk)

    Comment by UnaRocks | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  7. midnight train to georgia
    gay eskimo – tenacious d
    talk to me now – ani difranco
    its a sin – pet shop boys
    viar in a tutu – the smiths

    Comment by ragin spice | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  8. Since Bren took all my stereotypical songs, I really only have one he forgot:

    I don’t feel like dancin’ – Scissor Sisters

    Comment by Liz | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  9. Oooh Oooh! Forgot!

    Somewhere Over the Rainbow – any artist, but let’s go with Judy Garland

    … now I’m done

    Comment by Liz | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  10. Yo didn’t know this was your blog when I met ya at Dan Deacon. Will surely see you out again some night!!

    Pride songs….err….let me see, I’m not gay but here are songs that seem to me to articulate feelings relating to having to struggle with your sexuality in a world that’s still a bit unaccepting, and therefore surely provide some solace to listeners who might feel the same way.

    Belle and Sebastian-The state that I am in
    The Smiths-Reel around the fountain
    The Vaselines-Rory ride me raw

    Comment by gardenhead | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  11. Actually, the last of those three songs is not about a struggle at all, just a mad proclamation from both a girl and a boy that they want to be rode by ‘rory’.

    Comment by gardenhead | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  12. Yeh great meeting ya Gardenhead. I’m not gay either but I always thought SRXT by Bloc Party was about struggling with sexuality. Supposed to be about a suicide though so what do I know.

    Comment by Tom | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  13. I didn’t know that Dublin has a pride festival. Damn it, too late now …

    Village People – Go west
    Diana Ross – I’m coming out
    Gloria Gaynor – I Am What I Am
    Boy Pop – Book of Love
    Sister Sledge – We Are Family

    Comment by BC | June 16, 2008 | Reply

  14. Just to reiterate good points made by both Tom and gardenhead – I’M NOT GAY EITHER!!!!

    Comment by Brian | June 17, 2008 | Reply

  15. Geez, Brian. Sensitive much?

    Comment by Tom | June 17, 2008 | Reply

  16. Buzzcocks – Orgasm Addict
    Abba – Dancing Queen
    Pet Shop Boys – Go West
    Frankie Goes to Hollywood – Relax
    Take That feat. Lulu – Relight My Fire

    Comment by Jenna! | June 17, 2008 | Reply

  17. Who cares?!

    great suggestions, keep ’em coming!

    Comment by Bren | June 17, 2008 | Reply

  18. Ooh, I don’t have any more to offer for the podcast (apart from ABBA – Gimme gimme gimme a man after midnight!) but it sounds like it’s going to be a brilliant dance around your handbag one!

    Comment by Denise | June 18, 2008 | Reply

  19. As is the case with a lot of other top five lists, I end up thinking about this too much and get distracted by shiny things.

    As much as I’d like to be original and list a million Freddie Mercury suggestions I think I’ll leave Freedom by George Michael as my only suggestion for this week.

    Comment by Pedro Monscooch | June 18, 2008 | Reply

  20. 1. Robert German-Marlboro Man
    2. Ani DiFranco-Light of Some Kind
    3. Robert German-Fishnet Sailor
    4. Johnny Cash- Boy Named Sue
    5. Eric Himan-Bartender
    6. Tesosterone Kills-Arizona (an extra one for good measure)

    Comment by jesse | June 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

