My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Cunning Linguist Podcast and My Top Five Songs to Fall Asleep

Thank you all for sharing your cunning linguists with me. Check out the tasty podcast here.

Cunning Linguist Podcast.mp3

Next week theme is inspired by a post on the Pulp and Circumstance blog where Jenna described a study to find the best songs to fall asleep to. Well I can think we can do better than a lousy science experiment and make our own list. Here are my Top Five Songs to Fall Asleep, what are yours?

5. Bon Iver, The Wolves

4. Feist, The Park

3. The Frames, Plateau

2. Sparklehorse, It’s a Wonderful Life

1. Arvo Part, Spiegel in Spiegel

June 26, 2008 - Posted by | Music, My Top Five, Podcast, Sleep

8 Comments »

  1. – It had to be you = Lisa Edahl
    – My funny valentine = Chet Baker
    – Transatlantic = Quantic
    – Rose rouge – St.Germain
    – Ederlezi = Goran Bregovic
    – Lullaby = Goran Bregovic
    – Lullaby = The cure

    The last two are very similar to each other. Bregovic was perhaps inspired as it was for 99% of his song from The Cure but both are excellent.

    Comment by BC | June 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Norah Jones – Come away with me

    “Je voudrais”, “J’en ai rêvé” from movie Sleeping Beauty
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehingYSptS0)

    I Sing I Swim – by Seabear (from The science of sleep movie soundtrack)

    ah this is nice too – Open Your Eyes by Snow Patrol

    Comment by Mo. | June 29, 2008 | Reply

  3. It’s making me sleepy just thinking about them …

    1. Fridge – Long Singing
    2. Mogwai – 2 Rights Make 1 Wrong
    3. Explosions in the Sky – Your Hand In Mine
    4. The Velvet Underground – If You Close The Door
    5. Tom Waits – Old ’55

    Comment by eamon | July 1, 2008 | Reply

  4. 10. Moonriver – Audry Hepburn
    9. Walk With You – Dispatch
    8. Lullaby (Goodnight my Angel) – Billy Joel
    7. Let That Be Enough – Switchfoot
    6. Grace is Gone – Dave Matthews Band
    5. Shattered – Remy Zero
    4. Home – Michael Buble
    3. Lullaby – Ben Folds
    2. Green Eyes – Coldplay
    1. I Will Follow You Into the Dark – Deathcab for Cutie

    Comment by Liz | July 1, 2008 | Reply

  5. hmmmmm anything by mercury rev is good sleepy music

    Comment by Kate | July 2, 2008 | Reply

  6. Never as tired as when I’m waking up – LCD Soundsystem (okay, so it’s waking up not falling asleep…. still, makes me tired!)

    Strangers in the Night – Frank Sanatra

    My Funny Valentine – Chet Baker

    Shadow of the Sun – Paul Weller

    Drivin on 9 – The Breeders

    I Keep a Close Watch – John Cale

    Just like the Rain – Richard Hawley

    There’s also a great song on the Betty Blue soundtrack but I can’t remember the name of it 😦

    Comment by Roisin | July 2, 2008 | Reply

  7. What, no Queen suggestions this week???

    Comment by Roisin | July 2, 2008 | Reply

  8. Brian is on holiday

    Comment by Tom | July 3, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

