My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Places Podcast and My Top Five Songs about Money

UPDATE: Sorry for the delay in podcasting, I’ll try and get it down this evening!

Thanks for your favourite songs about places. You can download the podcast here.

Places Podcast.mp3

For next week, we’re looking for your Top Five Songs about money. They can be about being broke, rich, making money, wanting money, spending it, whatever you like! Here are mine what are yours.

5. Rilo Kiley, Moneymaker

4. Flying Lizards, Money (That’s what I want)

3. Notorius BIG, Mo Money Mo Problems

2. Pink Floyd, Money

1. Barenaked Ladies, If I had $1,000,000

July 18, 2008 - Posted by | Music, My Top Five, Podcast

12 Comments »

  1. Any chance you could upload the videos/audios of the clips when you post. Would me really cool.

    Comment by who me | July 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. Not gonna lie, each of those would have been my top 5. Even Rilo Kiley. Except I’d probably have used the Josie and the Pussycats version of Money (That’s what I want)… So, I’ve had to be a little more creative.

    6. Cash Machine – Hard-Fi
    5. Gold Digger – Kanye West
    4. I Got Your Money – Old Dirty Bastard
    3. Life is a Lemon (and I want my money back) – Meatloaf
    2. Take the Money and Run – Steve Miller Band
    1. Must Be the Money – Nelly

    And I refuse to apologize for having any one of these songs on heavy rotation on my ipod.

    Comment by Liz | July 19, 2008 | Reply

  3. No.1 and only: Queen – The Millionaire Waltz (from A Day at the Races album – one of Fred’s most over the top songs – lots of key changes and multi-tracked Bri May guitars).

    MORE TO FOLLOW BUT THEY’LL ONLY BE BULKING UP THE COMMENTS!

    Comment by Brian | July 20, 2008 | Reply

  4. Dire Straits – Money for Nothing. Great tune but overplayed in recent times. Those opening screams are Sting’s best work!

    The Beátles – Can’t Buy me Love.

    Steve Miller Band – Take the Money and Run

    Kanye West – Gold Digger. “Holla we want pre-nup”!

    Comment by Brian | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  5. Satisfied Mind – Jeff Buckley

    Money – Pink Floyd

    Comment by Mo | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  6. also ..

    ABBA – Money, Money, Money

    Money Talks – AC/DC

    Comment by Mo | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  7. Flying Lizards – Money.
    Monty Python – The Money Song.
    Warren Zevon – Lawyers, Guns, and Money.
    Abba – Money, Money, Money.
    The Benny Goodman Big Band feat. Peggy Lee – Why Don’t You Do Right?
    The Beatles – Taxman.
    Donna Summer – She Works Hard for the Money.
    Dire Straits – Money for Nothing.
    Hall & Oates – Rich Girl.
    Pet Shop Boys – Opportunities (Let’s Make Lots of Money).
    Ginger Rogers – We’re in the Money.

    …I picked too many; the Ginger Rogers came out in 1933 and is nearly impossible to find. What’s more, the best money song ever was “Brother, Can You Spare a Dime?”, which was played by many a man with banjo or guitar they hadn’t yet hocked for coin during the Great Depression. Many may know George Michael later covered the tune–in leather pants. The tune definitely loses something with Mr. Michael, most likely hopped up on bennies, dancing about the stage singng “Brothaaa….can I get a dime?” but thus is the irony of life. Anyways, if one of the original recordings were available, that’d be my top choice. I guess Donna Summer’s brilliant disco, Pet Shop Boys excellent synth, or the sheer magic of Hall & Oates will have to suffice from this here blabber monkey.

    Exciting podcast Tom. Me liked this one so much, there are so many tunes I can think of! Looking forward to it.

    Comment by Jenna! | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  8. Sunny Afternoon – The Kinks (‘The taxmans taken all my dough….’)

    Forever in Blue Jeans – Neil Diamond (‘Money Talks. But it don’t sing and dance and it don’t Walk. As long as I can have you here with me…. I’d much rather be….. forever in Blue Jeans’….. Awwwww)

    Comment by Roisin | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  9. Flying Lizards – Money (thats what I want), I love it – and most of the songs in Empire Records.

    Pink Floyd – Money (Cos it would be criminal not to include this song)

    The B-52’s – Legal Tender

    Janis Joplin – Mercedes Benz

    and an honourable mention for Common People by Pulp cos its sort of about money and sort of not..

    Comment by kate | July 23, 2008 | Reply

  10. Flying Lizards – Money (Thats what I want)
    Pink Floyd – Money
    B52’s – Legal Tender
    Pulp – Common People
    Janis Joplin – Mercedes Benz

    Comment by Kate | July 24, 2008 | Reply

  11. NatWest-Barclays-Midlands-Lloyds – Manics
    Bankrobber – the Clash
    You never give me your money – the Beatles
    Bittersweet Symphony – the Verve
    Shake you Moneymaker – Fleetwood Mac

    Comment by Will. | July 24, 2008 | Reply

  12. hello it is test. WinRAR provides the full RAR and ZIP file support, can decompress CAB, GZIP, ACE and other archive formats.
    roaupruvphgjjohcxrmuiuoplxjooumpcsmhello

    Comment by TriawlDupsgrainia | December 31, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

