My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Organ Podcast and My Top Five Unrequited Love Songs

Thanks Joe for his Top Five Organ songs idea and you guys for making it into a killer podcast.

Download it here.

Organ Podcast.mp3

For next week, we’re looking for something close to everyone’s heart. The angst, the frustration, the excitement. I’m talking of course about My Top Five Unrequited Love Songs. I’m accepting all styles and situations, as long as you can listen to them while staring at your bedroom ceiling and feeling sorry for yourself. If you need some inspiration look up the wiki page for Unrequited Love (I think it’s absolutely brilliant that wikipedia have a info on different kinds of love).

5. Add It Up, Violent Femmes

4. Is She Going Out With Him? Joe Jackson

3. Saturday Boy, Billy Bragg

2. Jeannie’s Diary, Eels

1. Everyone Knows That I Love You (except you), Divine Comedy

September 4, 2008 - Posted by | Music, My Top Five, Podcast

7 Comments »

  1. Oh yes, this is where I come into my own!

    1. Love of My Life by Queen “Love of my laahhhfe, don’t leave me..you’ve broken my heart, and now desert meee.” From A Night at the Opera, Bri’s is flying on the 12 string acoustic.
    2. Sally Cinnamon by The Stone Roses. Ian Brown singing about a lesbian he’s in love with (I think). As only Ian can.
    3. Little Red Book by Love. Not conventionally love-songy but its a tune and it works.
    4. It’s Late by Queen. IMO Brian May’s best work, from the News of the World album in ’78. Last line: “Aawww you make me wonduuurrrr, did I liiive maaah life RIGHT”
    5. Chelsea Hotel by Leonard Cohen. You couldn’t have a list like this without Len.

    Comment by denmark1982 | September 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. 5. The Boy With The Thorn In His Side – The Smiths
    4. The Dress Looks Like Nice On You – Sufjan Stevens (Although he doesn’t say so, literally, this song sounds like he’s singing from the trusty best friend position, and the female in question has no idea of his love)
    3. Age of Consent – New Order
    2. Crown Of Love – The Arcade Fire
    1. Alameda – Elliott Smith

    Comment by Norman | September 6, 2008 | Reply

  3. HUGE MISTAKE.
    I have a new number one.
    El Scorcho – Weezer.
    You absolutely have to play this, Tom.

    Comment by Norman | September 6, 2008 | Reply

  4. Unrequited love… I’m not really sure I know anything about that, but I’ll give it my best shot. And here’s a little of everything:

    6. #1 Crush – Garbage (This is the kind of song you play while lighting candles and making a voodoo doll)
    5. I Can’t Make You Love Me – Chantal Kreviazuk
    4. Someday We’ll Know – New Radicals
    3. You Won’t Be Mine – Matchbox 20
    2. Satisfied – Ashley Monroe (A little of no one will ever be happy music)
    1. Possession – Sarah McLachlan (And we’re back to just a little creepy)

    It looks like going through the Kubler-Ross stages, doesn’t it? And I’ll have you know that this list was limited mostly by your demand for Sad Bastard music only.

    Comment by Liz | September 7, 2008 | Reply

  5. Ok… So, not that I think it’s a GOOD song. But David Archuleta (yeah, that little pre-teen that nearly won Idol) released a single called “Crush”

    It’s amazingly teen-angsty, and fits this week in a way that almost makes me sad.

    Also from this week, apparently Randy is thinking about unrequited love:

    http://www.somethingpositive.net/sp09092008.shtml

    Comment by Liz | September 10, 2008 | Reply

  6. 5. Dolly Parton – Jolene.
    4. Lightnin’ Hopkins – Hard To Love a Woman. (Blues artists were the originators of that whole unrequited love tune thing–and I could list thousands, but this one is straight to the point. “It’s hard to love a woman, when she don’t love you.”
    3. Bessie Smith – Careless Love.
    2. The Smiths – Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want.
    1. The Cure – Pictures of You.

    Comment by Jenna! | September 10, 2008 | Reply

  7. ok so its not 5 but here ya go:
    Tom Waits- Martha
    Elvis Costello- She
    Tom Waits/Juliet Turners(just to be different) version of I hope that I don’t fall in love with you.
    Natalie Merchant- Beloved Wife.

    Comment by sue | September 11, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

