My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Protest Podcast and Jenna’s Top Five Quintessential Songs for A Genre

Give hearty “Up Yours!” to the whatever is keeping you down with our excellent Protest Podcast! Thanks for all the suggestions especially those from our new blog buddies, Sheena and Mark (updated blogroll)

Download it Here

Protest Podcast.mp3

For next week we have a Guest Top Fiver, in the form of Jenna! from the Pulp and Circumstance Blog. Her Top Five aims to distill the essence of individual genres of music into single songs. So which song waves the Punk banner for you? Or Indie? Or Classic Rock? Or Lo-fi anti-folk thrash? Whatever you’re into, let us know what song represents it best!

5. Gang Starr – Soliloquy of Chaos (hip hop)
4. Juan Atkins as Cybotron with Rick Davis – Alleys of Your Mind (the birth of techno)
3. Daniel Miller as The Normal – Warm Leatherette (post punk DIY basement electronica)
2. Henry Thomas – Fox and The Hounds (Early African-American blues)
1. Pulp – Common People (Britpop)

September 19, 2008 - Posted by | Music, My Top Five, Podcast

9 Comments »

  1. […] It’s My Top Five Quintessential Tunes that Represent a Genre. I know, I know, long and confusing, right? […]

    Pingback by It’s My Top Five…no seriously….mine. « Kraftworkin | September 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. 80’s Pop: Big Country-Big Country
    Celtic/Irish-Rock: The Pogues-Sally MacLennane
    Psychobilly: The Cramps-Sado County Auto Show
    Northern Soul: Al Wilson-The Snake
    Cheesy Early 90’s Dance Music: C+C Music Factory-Gonna Make You Sweat (Everybody Dance Now)

    I figured I’d start this off with some more random genres

    Comment by Joe | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. Lo-Fi: Guided By Voices, I am a scientist
    Ballads: Survivor, Man Against The World (Rocky 4 soundtrack)
    Power Pop: Cheap trick, I want you to want me
    Mod revival: The Jam, That’s entertainment
    Indie: The microphones, The Glow Part 2

    Comment by Tom | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  4. Psychedelic Indie Pop: Neutral Milk Hotel – In The Aeroplane Over The Sea
    New York Punk: Patty Smith – Gloria OR Richard Hell & The Voidoids – Blank Generation
    Noise Rock: My Bloody Valentine – Only Shallow
    East Coast Hiphop: NWA – Straight Outta Compton
    Bad Ass: Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – As I Sat Sadly By Her Side

    Somebody had to do it

    Comment by Norman | September 20, 2008 | Reply

  5. Correction:

    **West Coast Hip-Hop: NWA – Straight Outta Compton

    Comment by Norman | September 21, 2008 | Reply

  6. 1. (Psychedelia) White Rabbit by Jefferson Airplane
    2. (Late Glam rock) Dr. Feelgood by Motley Crue
    3. (Earlier Glam Rock) White Queen by Queen
    4. (Prog Rock) 21st Century Schizoid Man by King Crimson
    5. (RnB) No Diggity by Blackstreet

    Comment by Brian | September 22, 2008 | Reply

  7. 1. Leadbelly – Where Did You Sleep Last Night? (Early American Folk)
    2. The Bug – Poison Dart (Dubstep)
    3. Ultravox – Vienna (New Romanticism)
    4. Donna Summer – I Feel Love (Disco)
    5. Berlin – Take My Breath Away (Ultimate Guilty Pleasures!)

    Comment by sheenalm | September 22, 2008 | Reply

  8. These are mine, I don’t think they are representative of any genre, but for me these songs opened me up to that particular genre.

    Hip Hop – Hip Hop by Mos Def, heard it on an NME cd years and years ago, excellent.

    Punk – London Calling by The Clash, I believe I swapped my copy of “The best anthems in the world EVER!” for a copy of London Calling by The Clash, I don’t know where the bloke participated in the swap ended up…..

    Indie – Starfighter Pilot by Snow Patrol. Okay, this might take some explaining. The year was urm, 1998/9? I was watching “Up For It Live” on MTV with Eddi Temple-Morris and Zane Lowe, probably after listening to Kula Shaker all day, when a band called Snow Patrol came on and played Starfighter Pilot (they’d never been on tv before and only sold 500 copies of Songs For Polar Bears). I’d never been exposed to a band that no one had ever heard of before, so went out of the weekend to hunt down the album, I spent 15.99 on it got home listened to it, and felt a certain smugness from listening to something that no one I knew had ever heard before. I’ve been striving for that smugness ever since, surely, that’s what indie music fans are all about, being smug.

    Country – Flowers on The Wall – The Statler Brothers. No big story on this one really, heard it on the Pulp Fiction sound track and thought it was awful, then I listened to it when I was REALLY REALLY bored during my summer holidays in school, the words made a lot of sense, then I decided country music was sound.

    Dance – Rez/Cowgirl (live) – Underworld. I believe I was going out one night, I was hungover and I was listening to a dusty mini-disc compilation someone made me, I was in the horrors walking to the bus stop when this song came on from nowhere, it played for 11 minutes 48 seconds, afterwards all I wanted was a can so I stopped into the Super Valu bought a Dutch Gold for the bus and listened to it again.

    Comment by Mark Orford | September 23, 2008 | Reply

  9. […] past week I told you to head over to My Top Five and contribute to my guest podcast? The theme? My Top Five Quintessential Tunes for a Genre. Welp, Tom has podcasted it up–with all your help and comments–and it’s ready for […]

    Pingback by It’s the Tops. Top Fivers that is. Podcast up! « Kraftworkin | September 26, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

