My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Genre Podcast and My Top Five Travelling Songs

Jenna took over the reins last week and delivered a top notch theme and selection for you to enjoy. Check out here Top Five Quintessential Songs That Represent a Genre Podcast here.

Download it here

Genre Podcast.mp3

I’m going away for a good while but that’s not gonna stop the podcast. Since I’m travelling I thought it would be cool to do a travelling songs top five. Whether it’s moving house or moving country, going on holiday or a roadtrip, there are countless songs about travelling and moving. Here’s My Top Five what are yours.

5. Holiday, Weezer

4. Proud Mary, Creedance Clearwater Revival

3. Road to Nowhere, Talking Heads

2. I’ve been everywhere, Johnny Cash

1. Let’s Get Out of this Country, Camera Obscura

N.B. Due to my travelling the next podcast is going to be in a fortnight (9th Oct)

September 26, 2008 - Posted by | Music, My Top Five, Podcast

9 Comments »

  1. Define “a good while”? Here are five songs which have some sort of movement involved. They might not

    1. She’s Leaving Home – The Beatles
    2. On The Road Again – Canned Heat
    3. Drive Slow – Kanye West
    4. A Horse With No Name – America (Despite the awful lyrics)
    5. Back In Time – Huey Lewis And The News (Does time travel count?)

    Comment by Pedro Monscooch | September 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. Oops, I forgot to finish that sentence. What I meant to say was “be good but I love them”.

    Comment by Pedro Monscooch | September 26, 2008 | Reply

  3. I’m working in Seattle for 6 weeks. I should be able to do the podcast there, one of the advantages of my super lo-fi production is that all I need is my portable hard drive of music, an internet connection and my macbook. how far we’ve come…

    Comment by Tom | September 26, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hit the Road Jack – Ray Charles

    Wayfaring Stranger – You’ve your pick of cover versions! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Wayfaring_Stranger_(song)

    I’ll probably be back with more…

    Comment by Roisin | September 29, 2008 | Reply

  5. Ooh,
    Tracy Chapman, “She’s got her ticket” and Red Hot Chili Peppers “Road trippin”. Essentials in my head!

    Comment by popscience | September 30, 2008 | Reply

  6. 8. AC/DC – Highway to Hell
    7. Tracy Chapman – Fast Car
    6. The Band – The Weight
    5. Lou Reed – Walk on the Wild Side
    4. Jimmy Cliff – Many Rivers to Cross
    3. Robert Johnson – Traveling Riverside Blues (hardly about travel, more about a sexual boast, but it’s the best metaphor for “driving” ever.)
    2. Gladys Knight and the Pips – Midnight Train to Georgia
    1. The Modern Lovers – Roadrunner (an homage to New England and driving the streets of Boston all night!)

    There are just so many! I could go on forever!

    Comment by Jenna! | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hope you have mega fun on your travels Tom! Tell me all about it when you get back 😀 x

    5. Mogwai- Travel is Dangerous
    4. Phil Collins- Something happened on the way to heaven
    3. Olivia Tremor Control- Can you come down with us?
    2. Guided by Voices- Motor Away
    1. Chocolate USA- She’s an Airplane

    Comment by Loreana | October 1, 2008 | Reply

  8. 1. Radar Love – Canned Earring
    2. (Get Your Kicks on) Route 66 – Bobby Troupe
    3. Roadrunner – Jopnathan Richman and the Modern Lovers
    4. Eagles – Take it Easy
    5. The Beatles – Drive my Car

    2 and 4 obviously evoke memories of driving Route 66 for me, so please play them!!!

    Comment by Brian | October 6, 2008 | Reply

  9. 1.The Doors (riders on the storm)
    2.The Prodigy (3 Kilos)
    3.Tom Waits (Ol’55)
    4.The Pixise (The Happening)
    5.Megadeath (Hangar 18)

    Comment by TrafficoneMan | October 27, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

