My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Long Names Podcast and My Top 5 Mean and Moody Songs

Thanks for all the great suggestions last week. They were supercalifragilisticexpialidocious! Check out the podcast with long named songs here!

Long Names Podcast.mp3

Next week, we’re getting dark and threatening with My Top 5 Mean and Moody Songs. We’re talking about songs that are menacing, sulking and either put you in a dark place or keep you there. Here are My Top Five but you can pick whatever you’re interpretation of mean and moody as well. Get commenting!

5. Of Montreal, We were born the mutants again with leafling

4. Super Extra Bonus Party, Drone Rock

3. Metronomy, This could be beautiful, it is

2. Hot Chip, The Warning

1. Radiohead, Idioteque

October 17, 2008 - Posted by | Music, My Top Five, Podcast

6 Comments »

  1. 9. No Bravery – James Blunt (just about the most depressing song out there… but it’s James Blunt, so it’s low on the list)

    8. Don’t Speak – No Doubt (I know it’s a bit faster than “moody” but extra points for being written as the bands breakup song… that ended up being a #1. Ironic depression mood)

    7. You Might Die Trying – Dave Matthews Band (There’s just something about this song that gets me. Hopeless moodiness)

    6. Magic – Ben Folds (Ben Folds has a lot of songs that can put me in a mood, but I think this is my favorite one. Of course Brick is another)

    5. What Sarah Said – Death Cab for Cutie (It’s a bit more upbeat musically than lyrically, since it’s about someone dying in ICU. This is my life *sigh*)

    4. Colorblind – Counting Crows (CC have a few songs that get me. Colorblind is a nice, depressed, not moving from the bed kind of song)

    3. Shattered – Remy Zero (Contemplative, sad, and honest)

    2. Elsewhere – Sarah McLachlan (I debated a few of her songs as well, but there is something about the futile belief in this song that makes me want to cry)

    1. Hallelujah – Rufus Wainwright (Obviously, Leonard Cohen and Jeff Buckley also have amazingly haunting versions of this song. I’m just partial to Rufus Wainwright on this one. But what’s a moody song list without Leonard Cohen?)

    Comment by Liz | October 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. probably breaking the “song” rule (is there a song rule?) but Amon Tobin’s Easy Muffin. some good brooding, right there.

    Comment by Rosie | October 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. 1. Dylan -Positively 4th Street

    2. Sinead O’Connor – Jerusalem

    3. The Smiths – Unhappy Birthday

    4. Johnny Cash – Sam Hall

    5. Nirvana – Rape me

    I just can’t stop the mean and moody bleeding into a little rage.

    Comment by gimmeaminute | October 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. 1. Queen – Death on Two Legs. Written by Fred about theif first manager, this is akin to Tito Peunte setting Mr Burns’ heart on fire with a slanderous mambo after Burns tapped the schools oil well in the Simpsons. The comparision is valid, trust me!

    2. The Stone Roses – How Do You Sleep

    That’s all I can muster up, a combo of being in a good mood and a ‘pod not geared towards the subject!

    Comment by Brian | October 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. Outdone yourself here…

    Comment by raptureponies | October 22, 2008 | Reply

  6. There’s NO WAY you can keep this at a Top Five. Depression, Moodyness, and the like, are the basis for all the greatest music, ever. I pledge here that Tom do a SECOND podcast featuring this very theme. Methinks.
    So, here’s my 10. It was hard enough at 10.

    10.Bjork – Joga
    9. Patsy Cline – She’s Got You.
    8. Bill Withers – Ain’t No Sunshine.
    7. The Beatles – While My Guitar Gently Weeps.
    6. Nazareth – Love Hurts.
    5. Whitney Houston – I Will Always Love You. *Don’t laugh! I tear up at this tune EVERY time I hear it…which isn’t often, say, like, every other day.
    4. Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Maps.
    3. Elliot Smith – Needle in the Hay.
    2. Nico and the Velvet Underground – These Days.
    1. Joy Division – Atmosphere.

    Comment by Jenna! | October 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

