My Top Five…

The soundtrack of your life

Guilty Pleasures Podcast and My Top Five Farewell Tunes

Thank you Rapture Ponies and all the comments section for helping create a wonderfully guilty and pleasurable podcast.

Download it here

RP Guilty Pleasures Podcast.mp3

Unfortunately, after much thought I’ve decided to call it a day with My Top Five. Next week is the 1 year anniversary and I thought we could go out with 1 more final fantastic podcast. So my theme for next week is My Top Five Farewell Tunes. We couldn’t part ways without a goodbye!

Here are My Top Five what are yours.

5. Should I stay or should I go now,

4. Sally Mclenanne, The Pogues

3. Say hello, Wave Goodbye. Soft Cell

2.That’s no way to say Goodbye, Leonard Cohen

1. So long farewell, Sound of Music OST

November 7, 2008 - Posted by | Music, My Top Five, Podcast

15 Comments »

  1. […] bad news. After 1 year, I’ve decided to call it a day. There is one more podcast next week, My Top Five Farewell songs. Hope you enjoyed it as much as I […]

    Pingback by My Top Five 2007-2008 « Nerd Rock | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. 1. The Beatles – The Long and Winding Road. Wasn’t this their last song?
    2. I feel my other choices are somewhat irrelevant, I can’t think of 2 more fitting songs!
    3. Queen – These Are the Days of our Lives. Freddie’s last song, in the video you can see death written all over his face – he’s ghost-like. The last line “I still love you” is heart-wrenching. And you know this song is Fran’s farewell song from Cape Cod, so you gotta play it. Preferably the last song in the ‘cast (also cos I’m your best contributor!!!)

    Comment by Brian | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. Has to be we’ll meet again by Johnny Cash in there? Thanks so much for the top five!

    You’ve been awesome! Thank you kindly, and i tip my hat to you sir…

    x

    Comment by raptureponies | November 7, 2008 | Reply

  4. it’d have to be Blur’s No Distance Left to Run – the saddest farewell of them all.

    i’ll be sorry to see My Top Five go.

    *sniff*

    Comment by Rosie | November 8, 2008 | Reply

  5. Time to say goodbye-sarah brightman,
    The long and winding Road like Brian suggested,
    The End -The Doors,

    I wish i contributed more…….

    Comment by sue | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  6. I think I like David Gray’s version of “Say Hello, Wave Goodbye.” Also… it’s very tempting to put Whitesnake – Here I Go Again. Not exactly a Goodbye, but it has the feeling.

    5. Fond Farewell – Elliot Smith
    4. Don’t Speak – No Doubt
    3. A Lifetime – Better than Ezra
    2. Good Riddance – Green Day
    1. Exitlude – The Killers

    Comment by Liz | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  7. I’d pretend to cry, but after that hug, I’ve sworn that you’ll never make me cry again.

    Comment by Liz | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  8. last goodbye – jeff buckley
    never say goodbye – bob dylan
    ill try think of another three but dont have my ipod on me…

    Comment by kate | November 10, 2008 | Reply

  9. […] for now! (JUST FOR NOW!). He’s been doing some fab internetage, and I especially love the guilty pleasure podcast… is it the best podcast ever? Yes, I think we all know the answer is […]

    Pingback by Guilty Pleasure to the max… « Raptureponies | November 11, 2008 | Reply

  10. 10. EmmyLou Harris – Goodbye (Steve Earle cover).
    9. Jackson 5 – Never Can Say Goodbye.
    8. Johnny Cash & Merle Haggard – I’m Leavin’ Now.
    7. Bowie – Rock n’ Roll Suicide.
    6. Elliot Smith – Fond Farewell to a Friend.
    5. Peter Gabriel (on departure from Genesis) – Solsbury Hill.
    4. Scott Walker – Rhymes of Goodbye.
    3. Sparks – Bon voyage from Propoganda.
    2. Frou Frou – Let Go.
    1. The Kingsmen – Louie, Louie.

    Comment by Jenna! | November 11, 2008 | Reply

  11. Fond Farewell – Elliot Smith (This has been listed and I agree that it’s a must, especially for a bunch of melodic hipsters like us.)

    Dry Your Eyes – The Streets
    Your Wondering Now – The Specials
    Goodbye, So Long – Ike & Tina Turner
    Understand Your Man – Johnny Cash
    It’s So Hard to Say Goodbye to Yesterday – Boyz II Men (Cheesy 90’s suggestion)

    It’s been a great podcast. I hate to see it go. Thanks again for keeping it up this long

    Comment by Joe | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  12. Sorry to see you go Tom! Really enjoyed the podcasts

    5. Hit the road Jack – Ray Charles
    4. Leaving on a Jet Plane – John Denver
    3. Exit Music for a Film – Radiohead
    2. My Way – Frank Sinatra

    And of course at number 1…. played at weddings/21st/pubs/clubs all over Ireland when they’re trying to get rid of people

    1. Amhran na bhFiann

    Oh and I’ve just thought of another two : The End by The Doors and End of a Century by Blur. Thems good songs.

    Godspeed Tom!!! xxx

    Comment by Roisin | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  13. I also vote for Time to Say GoodBye, Whitesnake and Time of your life (Good Riddance) cos I want it on my iPod!

    And I’ve thought of another one: ‘It’s Over’ – Roy Orbison

    Okay, that’s my lot

    Comment by Roisin | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  14. It’s been a helluva podcast, and I’m sad to see it go.
    This has already been said, but
    Fond Farewell – Elliott Smith

    Comment by Norman | November 13, 2008 | Reply

  15. Please don’t play the National Anthem Tom – too mnay memories of sobering up when the lights come on!

    Thanks for the ‘cast!

    Comment by denmark1982 | November 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

